NME Artists


Richard Johnson/NME


Alt-J are comprised of guitarist and singer Joe Newman, keyboardist Gus Unger-Hamilton, drummer Thom Green and guitarist/bassist Cameron Knight. Gwil Sainsbury formerly played guitar and bass for the group but it was announced via Twitter that he was to leave the band in January 2014.

The band met at university in Leeds in 2007 and named themselves after the Apple Mac keyboard shortcut for the delta symbol (a triangle). Before Alt-J, they were known as Films and Daljit Dhaliwal. The four original members graduated in 2010 and moved to Cambridge where they worked on their music whilst claiming benefits. They signed with Infectious Records (The Temper Trap, These New Puritans) in December 2011, shortly after which they released their eponymous debut EP. The record was produced by long-time collaborator Charlie Andrew and featured the likes of 'Breezeblocks' and 'Matilda'.

Alt-J's debut album 'An Awesome Wave' was released on May 25 2012. It went on to win the Mercury Music Prize later that year before being named Album of The Year at the 2013 Ivor Novello ceremony. Its successor 'This Is All Yours' was released on September 22 2014 and went straight to Number One in the Official Albums Chart. Shortly before the record's release, the band announced a UK tour, including a headline date at London's Alexandra Palace, which sold out almost immediately. They later confirmed they would headline London's O2 Arena and New York's Madison Square Gardens in 2015.
Show More

Alt-J Reviews


View More
Connect With Us
This Week's Magazine