NME Artists

Arcade Fire



Arcade Fire are a Canadian rock band based in Montreal, Canada. They are fronted by husband-and-wife duo Win Butler and Regine Chassange and also include members Richard Reed Parry, William Butler, Jeremy Gara and Tim Kingsbury. Arcade Fire's debut album, 'Funeral', was released in 2005 - its name was inspired because four of the band's members had recently lost loved ones. The LP received great critical acclaim and was voted the second best album of the year by NME. Two years later, they released their follow-up 'Neon Bible' and then, in 2009, released the double-album 'The Suburbs': the LP won Grammy Award for Album Of The Year and was given a 9/10 review by NME. After a four-year break, Arcade Fire returned with their fourth album 'Reflektor', released in October 2013. The LP, which was co-produced by LCD Soundystem man James Murphy, received widespread praise and also featured a contribution by David Bowie on the title track. Influenced by Chassagne's Haitian roots and carnival music, it received an 8/10 review from NME. Following the album's release, the band headlined Glastonbury in June 2014.
Show More

Arcade Fire Reviews

View More
Connect With Us
This Week's Magazine