English singer-songwriter Dan Smith formed Bastille in 2010, beginning as a solo project and then expanding it to include a full band. He took the group's name from Bastille Day, which coincides with his birthday. The rest of the band is comprised of Chris Wood, William Farquarson and Kyle Simmons. Bastille also originally included a violinist and cellist.

The band released their debut single 'Flaws' as a limited edition seven inch on Young & Lost Club in June 2010. They then self-released their 'Laura Palmer' EP in November 2011, their last release before signing to EMI. Bastille's debut LP 'Bad Blood' followed on March 4 2013 and went straight to Number One in the Official Albums Chart.

Smith also curates a mixtape series called Other People's Heartache. The first two parts featured Bastille covering other artists' songs while the third volume is set to feature collaborations with Lizzo, Haim and Angel Haze amongst others.

'Bad Blood' was on November 25 2013 as 'All This Bad Blood' with new song 'Of The Night', a mash-up of 'Rhythm Of The Night' by Corona and 'Rhythm Is A Dancer' by Snap!.

Bastille were nominated for four BRIT Awards at the 2014 ceremony including British Breakthrough Act, British Single Of The Year, British Album Of The Year and British Group. They went on to win the award for British Breakthrough Act.

The band began working on their second album in late 2013, playing three new songs in their live show. In an interview with Gigwise, Smith revealed the group's second album might be more focused on guitars.

Read More

Bastille Tickets

There are no Bastille tickets on sale at the moment. Why not subscribe to the Bastille Tickets RSS feed to be first in line when Bastille gig tickets are available?

back to top

Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Inside NME.COM