A super strong comeback from Cali’s favourite punks Bleached today, sounding like ’80s Ramones (Spector-produced) rearranging a Runaways classic.

It’s been three years since Jennifer and Jessie Clavin’s debut album Ride Your Heart and since then times have, evidently, been hard. Jennifer’s been in the midst of “torrid” relationship problems, while Jessie was evicted from her apartment. It’s all fed into new album ‘Welcome The Worms’, out on April 1 via Dead Oceans.

Here’s Jennifer talking about the darkness around the album and her own relationship woes, which are what inspired the track we’re premiering below today, ‘Keep On Keepin’ On’:

“It’s a lot to expect someone to stick with you through thick and thin, especially when you aren’t right in your head. You end up putting them on a pedestal because they are the one thing that makes you feel sane and stable when everything else is so rocky. And if it’s true love nothing can break that… right? Eventually, I realised letting go of someone can be where the real love is.

“Originally the chorus to this song was “keep on keeping on with me” because initially that’s what I felt… Like, I will die if you leave me. But I changed it to “keep on, keeping on that beat” because it felt more like moving forward. Even if we do have to let go of someone we love, we still have our own lives to live and it’s not the end of the world like we might think sometimes. So keep on, keeping on.”

The Lana Kim-directed video, she adds, was shot in one day in her apartment and around different spots in LA. “We always really enjoy working with Lana Kim and I think her idea of us being stalked was perfect. It fits well with the darkness that is embedded in this new record.”

Bleached tour the UK this May – check the dates after the vid:

Welcome The Worms Tracklisting:
01. Keep On Keepin’ On
02. Trying To Lose Myself Again
03. Sleepwalking
04. Wednesday Night Melody
05. Wasted On You
06. Chemical Air
07. Sour Candy
08. Desolate Town
09. I’m All Over The Place (Mystic Mama)
10. Hollywood, We Did It All Wrong

Bleached Tour Dates:
Tue. Mar. 15 – Sat. March 19 – Austin, TX @ SXSW
Tue. Mar. 29 – Santa Barbara, CA @ Velvet Jones
Wed. Mar. 30 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah
Sat. Apr. 2 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar
Mon. Apr. 4 – Austin, TX @ Sidewinder
Tue. Apr. 5 – Houston, TX @ Walter’s
Wed. Apr. 6 – Dallas, TX @ Three Links
Fri. Apr. 8 – Nashville, TN @ The High Watt
Sat. Apr. 9 – Atlanta, GA @ Drunken Unicorn
Mon. Apr. 11 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
Wed. Apr. 13 – Washington, DC @ DC9
Fri. Apr. 15 – Boston, MA @ Great Scott
Sat. Apr. 16 – Montreal, QC @ Bar Le Ritz POB
Sun. Apr. 17 – Toronto, ON @ Garrison
Wed. Apr. 20 – Columbus, OH @ Double Happiness
Thu. Apr. 21 – Ferndale, MI @ Loving Touch
Fri. Apr. 22 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle
Sat. Apr. 23 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry
Mon. Apr. 25 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge
Tue. Apr. 26 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court
Thu. Apr. 28 – Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret
Fri. Apr. 29 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza
Sat. Apr. 30 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir
Mon. May 2 – San Francisco, CA @ Bottom of the Hill
Wed. May 4 – Santa Ana, CA @ Constellation Room
Thu. May 5 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom
Tue. May 17 – Manchester, UK @ Gulivers
Wed. May 18 – London, UK @ Moth Club
Thu. May 19 – Brighton, UK @ The Great Escape Festival @ Horatios
Fri. May 20 – Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet
Sat. May 21 – Eindhoven, NL @ Stroomhuis