1. Fucked Up – ‘The Other Shoe’
If you were to listen to an 18-track, 78-minute long rock opera, wouldn’t you want it to star a sweaty, half-naked bearded man? That’s just what Fucked Up are creating for their third album, ‘David Comes To Life’, which is out this June. The storyline is apparently set in the late ‘70s/early ‘80s in a fake British town, and the release will also come with a compilation album of fictional bands from that town. We’re also told to expect three more singles from the album to be released in the next few months.
Fucked Up

2. Mona – ‘Shoot The Moon’ (Dave Sitek Remix)
RCRDLBL premiered this beaut on Wednesday, and it’s everything you could want in a remix. Mr. Sitek has done it again, taking the Nashville rock sound of Mona and turning it into a swirling synth masterpiece. Pick up Mona’s self-titled debut album in May.

3. Hugh Laurie – ‘Guess I’m A Fool’
He’s not just an actor, kids. Laurie’s putting aside the medical mysteries for a side career in the blues. This free download is from ‘Let Them Talk’, his debut album from Warner Bros Records (out on May 9th). Now, he gets that some people might be a bit sceptical: “Worst of all, I’ve broken a cardinal rule of art, music, and career paths: actors are supposed to act, and musicians are supposed to music,” he writes on his website. But he loves his music and hopes you will, too.

4. The Milk – ‘54-46 (That's My Number)’ (Toots And The Maytals cover)
This is the next band you all should be paying attention to. These four guys from Wickford, Essex wanted to be in a punk band, started a punk band, realised punk was dead, split up, then returned with this new, soulful sound. Their their debut single, ‘(All I Wanted Was) Danger’ (listen to it here), is out today. You can also score this free download of their brilliant Toots And The Maytals cover.

5. Atari Teenage Riot – ‘Blood In My Eyes’
This new track from their forthcoming album, ‘Is This Hyperreal?’, is out on April 4th, and it’s pretty heavy stuff. Focusing on the female victims of human trafficking, Nic Endo cautions us not to stand by and take no action against it. Catch some of the Berlin trio’s new material on their comeback tour, kicking off this May at London’s HMV Forum.

6. CALLmeKAT – ‘My Sea’
Katrine Ottosen (aka CALLmeKAT) is a singer/keyboardist/composer from Copenhagen who makes hauntingly sweet songs that linger in your mind, and ‘My Sea’ is a perfect example. So go on and download it from Nylon – we promise, you’ll fall in love with it.

7. Cold Cave – ‘The Great Pan Is Dead’
On April 4th, you can catch Cold Cave playing an in-store set at London’s Rough Trade East shop, to kick off the release of their new album, ‘Cherish The Light’. The album was both recorded in and inspired by the Big Apple, and features guest appearances from the likes of Nick Zinner (Yeah Yeah Yeahs), Tonie Joy (Moss Icon) and Daryl Palumbo (Glassjaw).
Cold Cave

8. Cloud Nothings - 'Local Joke' (Neon Indian Cover)
This cover is Neon Indian-approved, and you can find it over on his official website. The original version's a chilled out trip-fest, but if that's not your sort of scene, then try the hazy rock of the Cloud Nothings version.
Cloud Nothings

9. CYMBALS – ‘Single Printed Name’
This London trio formed less than a year ago, in summer 2010, and they’re already set to release a debut album, ‘Unlearn’ on May 9th (through Tough Love Records). With help mixing the final product from Rory Bratwell (ex-Test Icles), James Yuill and D/R/U/G/S, this album’s shaping up to be an electrifying debut.

10. Nightbox - 'Pyramid'
This track kicks off sounding a bit Two Door Cinema Club-esque, then quickly takes on a fresh sound of its own. This Toronto-based five-piece recently finished recording an EP (produced by MSTRKRFT's AL-P and Death From Above 1979's Sebastien Grainger), which is full of songs they describe as "joyous, funky fruit". Can't really say no to that, can you? Download the song for free from the band's official website, and check out an acoustic version of it below.

Share This

Don't Miss
Latest Tickets
NME On Social
NME Store