Halloween: The 40 Best Fancy-Dress Costumes Your Favourite Artists Wore

The stars of the music and film world were out in force for Halloween, some dressing in a low-key way (Harrison Ford’s hot dog), some going over the top (Beyoncé’s X-Men costume), and some putting in a passable effort (Lauren Mayberry’s Robert Smith). Here’s a selection…

1. THE STROKES’ NIKOLAI FRAITURE as NICKI MINAJ

Niko Minaj bishes. Whatz good? 💋 Happy Halloween 💋

A photo posted by Nikolai Fraiture (@nikolai_fraiture) on

2. GRIMES as DEATH FAIRY

A photo posted by Grimezsz (@grimes) on

3. BEYONCE, KELLY ROWLAND, CIARA, SERENA WILLIAMS, LA LA ANTHONY as SUPERHEROES

https://instagram.com/p/9Rk4PIP-Us/

4. TAYLOR SWIFT as OLAF, FROZEN

Olaf vibes.

A photo posted by Taylor Swift (@taylorswift) on

5. GRIZZLY BEAR’S ED DROSTE as a SKELETON

Upgraded from a flower to a crazy skells , even shaved for it …feat. @busyphilipps

A photo posted by Ed Droste (@edroste) on

6. REAL ESTATE’S MATT MONDANILE as WAYNE, WAYNE’S WORLD

A photo posted by Matt Mondanile (@mattmondanile) on

7. SKY FERREIRA as THE CORPSE BRIDE

Thanks @loftjet for my casual day look 🌙

A photo posted by Sky Ferreira (@skyferreira) on

8. ALEX TURNER & MILES KANE as THE RIDDLER & RIC FLAIR

Halloween 2015 🎃👻🦁❓

A photo posted by David Adcock (@david.adcock) on

9. JENNY LEWIS as a FROG

📷 by @jennylsq 🐸

A photo posted by jenny lewis (@jennydianelewis) on

10. DIIV as THE WIZARD OF OZ CHARACTERS

11. JUSTIN BIEBER as JACKIE MOON, SEMI PRO

https://instagram.com/p/9dbay6gvno/

12. GWEN STEFANI as a DEAD COWGIRL

Hi Halloween gx 🎃

A photo posted by Gwen Stefani (@gwenstefani) on

13. SNOOP DOGG as a DOG

A photo posted by snoopdogg (@snoopdogg) on

14. KATY PERRY as a MICROPHONE

*Drops mic on your Halloween* 🎤⤵️

A photo posted by KATY PERRY (@katyperry) on

15. RYAN REYNOLDS as DEADPOOL

16. PALMA VIOLETS as VARIOUS

👻🎃👻🎃👻🎃👻🎃👻

A photo posted by Palma Violets (@palmavioletsofficial) on

17. TINASHE as SNOOP DOGG

18. DWAYNE ‘THE ROCK’ JOHNSON as POPEYE

19. CAGE THE ELEPHANT as VARIOUS

https://instagram.com/p/9glRvgv3ib/

20. MARIKA HACKMAN as a SKELETON

Happy Halloween 👻

A photo posted by Marika Hackman (@marikahackman) on

21. RUN THE JEWELS as GHOULS

Happy Halloween! #RTJ! Art by @ianklarer

A photo posted by Killer Mike (@killermike) on

22. HONEYBLOOD as SKELETONS

23. ALANA HAIM as ELVIRA HANCOCK, SCARFACE

Don't call me baby, I'm not your baby

A photo posted by babyhaim (@babyhaim) on

24. CHANNING TATUM as CAT IN THE HAT

25. PUBLIC ACCESS TV as DEAD PUBLIC ACCESS TV

New York! Going on at 10. See you soon. @elvisguesthouse

A photo posted by Public Access T.V. (@publicaccesstv) on

26. SHOPPING as DEVO & GHOST

Happy Halloween #shoppingband

A photo posted by Shopping Band 🔊🎸🎤🎵 (@we_are_shopping) on

27. PAUL MCCARTNEY as THE COUNT

Happy #Halloween! Who are you dressing up as this year? #PaulMcCartney

A photo posted by Paul McCartney (@paulmccartney) on

28. CHVRCHES’ LAUREN MAYBERRY as THE CURE’S ROBERT SMITH, THEN EDWARD SCISSORHANDS

TFW you dress as Robert Smith for Halloween and no one gets it…

A photo posted by Lauren Mayberry (@laurenevemayberry) on

… So you have to turn it into Edward Scissorhands. Make up by tour manager extraordinaire Cara McDaniel.

A photo posted by Lauren Mayberry (@laurenevemayberry) on

29. MAC DEMARCO as DARTH MAUL

A photo posted by Alex Calder (@alexcalderama) on

30. WOLF ALICE as KISS

31. HARRISON FORD & JIMMY KIMMEL as HOT DOG & PRINCESS LEIA

32. MILEY CYRUS as a TOOTH

Crinkled a$$ toof and toof fairy @vijatm ❤️❤️❤️

A photo posted by Miley Cyrus (@mileycyrus) on

33. YEARS & YEARS as UNDEAD SPICE GIRLS

34. NEIL PATRICK HARRIS & FAMILY as OBI WAN, HAN SOLO, LUKE & LEIA

A long time ago in a Halloween far, far away….

A photo posted by Neil Patrick Harris (@nph) on

35. NICKI MINAJ as a FAIRY PRINCESS

Boots by #Alaia

A photo posted by Nicki Minaj (@nickiminaj) on

37. VIN DIESEL as a BABYSITTING WOLF

Pauline and the Twins first Halloween. All love… @zoesaldana

A photo posted by Vin Diesel (@vindiesel) on

38. JAMES BAY as a SKELETON

39. ARIANA GRANDE as a COW

yesterday a cow… today Jack….. tomorrow…???? we will see 👻😈

A photo posted by Ariana Grande (@arianagrande) on

40. TOBIAS JESSO JR. as SASQUATCH