1. The Decemberists – ‘Down By the Water’
The Decemberists have returned with a new single (which will appear on their forthcoming album, ‘The King Is Dead’), featuring REM’s Peter Buck and singer-songwriter Gillian Welch. It’s not officially out until the 15th, but if you sign up for the band’s mailing list, you can get a free mp3 download of the track.


2. Janelle Monae – ‘The Shape Of Things To Come’
You’ve got to register an account to download this track, but it’s worth it. Recorded exclusively for Shape What’s To Come, an online community run by Levi’s, this is the latest musical creation from the dancing, tuxedo-donning android.
Janelle Monae

3. Cee Lo – ‘Radioactive’ (Kings Of Leon cover)
So instead of belting out “fuck you”, the Gnarls Barkley man decided to take on four Southern lads when he stopped by Radio 1’s Live Lounge. What do you think of his cover of the Followill clan’s latest single?

4. Mirrors – ‘Ways To An End’
Here is the latest electro goodness to come out of Brighton. Mirrors are like a modern-day OMD, which is fitting, seeing as they’re opening for the 80s synth-pop band on their upcoming UK tour, starting November 11th.

5. Superchunk – ‘Horror Business’ (Misfits cover)
They’ve been playing this song live quite frequently on their latest US tour, but now us UK-ers can enjoy the band’s cover of the best goth-rock single from 1979.

6/7. Tokyo Police Club - 'Favourite Color' (Aislyn remix) & Two Door Cinema Club– ‘Something Good Can Work' (Beatau Cue remix)
Beginning in January, these two bands will be heading out on the road together to perform in the States and Canada, so Glassnote Entertainment Group has released two free downloads to celebrate this exciting musical partnership. Head over to the label's website for an exclusive remix from each of the bands.
Tokyo Police Club
Two Door Cinema Club

8. AWOLNATION feat. Wale – ‘Guilty Filthy Soul’ (Samantha Ronson remix)
Mark Ronson’s lil sis has worked her DJ magic on this song from AWOLNATION’s debut EP, ‘Back From Earth’, which is out today via Red Bull Records. It’s got four original tracks, this remix, and another remix from innerpartysystem, as well as exclusive video content. You can get it as a limited edition t-shirt, which comes with a music download tag.

9. Kid Adrift – ‘A4 in Ecstasy’ (Distance Remix)
Kid Adrift’s latest single, apparently inspired by Aphex Twin and ‘Pretty Hate Machine’ era Nine Inch Nails, has been reworked by Distance in a hot remix you can download over at Soundcloud, donated exclusively for NME.com readers.

10. Simian Mobile Disco – ‘Aspic’
If you want seven minutes of a thumping new dance tune, then look no further. ‘Aspic’ is taken from the duo’s forthcoming double disc, ‘Delicacies’, which will be released at the end of the month.
Simian Mobile Disco

Share This

Don't Miss
Latest Tickets
NME On Social
NME Store