New Music Of The Day: Blaenavon – I Will Be The World

First things first: Blaenavon look like a proper band now. In the three years since we first spoke to them, singer Ben Gregory, bassist Frank Wright, and drummer Harris McMillan have signed to Transgressive and spent a while in the studio with Jim Abbiss (Peace, Catfish & The Bottlemen, Bombay Bicycle Club).

They emerge sounding huge. It’s the kind of refined indie that should see them ease into the mainstream, if feisty new single ‘I Will Be The World’ is anything to go by:

See Blaenavon on tour:
Sun, 30 April 2016, Leeds – Live At Leeds Festival
Thurs, 19 May 2016, Brighton – Great Escape Festival
Sun, 22 May 2016, Southampton – Joiners
Mon, 23 May 2016, Oxford – Bullingdon Arms
Wed, 25 May 2016, Bath – Moles
Thurs, 26 May 2016, London – Dingwalls
Fri, 27 May 2016, Manchester – Dot To Dot
Sat, 28 May 2016 Bristol – Dot To Dot
Sun, 29 May 2016, Nottingham – Dot To Dot
Mon, 30 May 2016, Glasgow – King Tut’s
Tue, 31 May 2016, Newcastle – Think Tank
Thurs, 2 June 2016, Leicester – The Cookie
Fri, 3 June 2016, Birmingham – Sunflower Lounge
Sun, 19 June 2016, Leicester -110 Above Festival
Sat, 2 July 2016, Winchester – Blissfields Festival
Fri, 15 July 2016, Southwold – Latitude Festival
Fri, 5 Aug – Sun 7 Aug 2016 – Forgotten Fields
Fri, 26 Aug – Sun, 28 Aug 2016 – Reading & Leeds