This week's news in pictures (1 May 2010)

  • MIA's controversial video for new song 'Born Free' has been removed from YouTube. Directed by Romain Gavras, it features nudity, graphic violence and a plot where ginger adolescents are rounded up into an armour-protected van, driven to the country and either shot or made to run through a minefield.

    Photo: Pamela Littky

    Added: 28 Apr 2010

  • The Fall's Mark E Smith is releasing an unofficial World Cup 2010 song for the England team. The singer has teamed up with former Fall member Ed Blane plus Jenny Shuttleworth (who records as Girl Peculiar) to release the song, titled 'England's Heartbeat'.


    Added: 20 Apr 2010

  • The Flaming Lips have been forced to cancel their appearance at this year's SunFest, because multi-instrumentalist Steven Drozd has been hospitalised.


    Added: 06 Oct 2009

  • Delphic, Errors, Stereo MC's, Freestylers and Chrome Hoof are among the acts newly-added to this year's Glade Festival line-up. The event, a spin-off of the Glastonbury festival area which bears the same name, takes place in Winchester on July 15-18, with Freq Nasty, Matthew Dear, Hybrid and Ed Rush also newly added to the bill.

    Photo: Andy Fallon

    Added: 05 Jan 2010

  • Shakira's song 'Waka Waka (This Time For Africa)' has been chosen as the official song of the FIFA World Cup 2010 tournament. The singer is set to head to Johannesburg in South Africa, where the tournament will take place, to perform the song at the opening ceremony on June 10.


    Added: 14 Sep 2009

  • Foo Fighters' Taylor Hawkins has confirmed that the group are "absolutely" releasing a new album in 2011. The as-yet untitled LP will be the band's seventh studio album, with Hawkins revealing that it's currently "in the fetal stages" of development.


    Added: 29 Oct 2009

  • Leftfield have announced details of what will be their first live shows in 10 years. Neil Barnes from the dance duo will head up shows at the Manchester Academy on June 5 then at the Sheffield O2 Academy on June 6.


    Added: 29 Apr 2010

  • The Killers' Brandon Flowers has confirmed he is set to release his debut solo album. The singer has named the record 'Flamingo'. More information is expected to be announced shortly.

    Photo: Dean Chalkley

    Added: 21 Dec 2009

  • Singer Adam Ant has laid into Liam Gallagher – challenging the ex-Oasis man to a fight and writing a song which attacks both Gallagher brothers. The cult pop singer, who is currently working on new material, admitted to Thequietus.com that he’d still like to take on Liam, even thought he’s probably got a “very big bodyguard".

    Photo: PA Photos

    Added: 30 Apr 2010

  • 50 Cent has spoken out about his ongoing fight against illegal downloading. The rapper was keen to state that music piracy is not killing the music industry, but is giving it new challenges and obstacles to overcome.

    Photo: PA Photos

    Added: 30 Apr 2010

  • Doves are set to take a two-year break from recording. Currently on a tour of the UK promoting their new 'Best Of' compilation, the Wilmslow band want to "get off that whole album-tour-album-tour treadmill".

    Photo: PA Photos

    Added: 30 Apr 2010

  • Courtney Love has said that she would like either Ryan Gosling or James McAvoy to star as her late husband Kurt Cobain in the forthcoming biopic about his life. Speaking on US chat show The View, Love, who is co-producing the movie, spoke about how she was trying to decide between the two.


    Added: 23 Mar 2009

  • Gorillaz were joined onstage for the first of their two special London shows on Thursday (April 29) by a host of guests from across their three albums. Despite the global nature of their collaborations, Damon Albarn and Jamie Hewlett were able to recruit the likes of Bobby Womack, De La Soul, Shaun Ryder and Super Furry Animals' Gruff Rhys to Camden's Roundhouse.

    Photo: Andy Willsher

    Added: 30 Apr 2010

  • Interpol have released a brand new song for free. 'Lights', taken from sessions for their fourth album, is available from the band's official site Interpolnyc.com. According to the band, the song will be the first of several to be released in the next few months.


    Added: 14 Jul 2009

  • Hurts, Everything Everything and Darwin Deez kicked off the NME Radar Tour on Monday (April 26) at Glasgow's King Tut’s Wah Wah Hut. Head to the NME Radar Blog to download exclusive tracks from the bands on this year's tour.

    Photo: Neal Smith

    Added: 27 Apr 2010