First for music news
This Week's Issue
You’re logged in

'Thor' and 'Captain America' sequels receive full titles

Marvel Studios announces the official titles of 'Thor 2' and 'Captain America 2' at Comic-Con

'Thor' and 'Captain America' sequels receive full titles

The full titles of the new Thor and Captain America films have been revealed.

The superhero sequels will be called Thor: The Dark World and Captain America: The Winter Soldier. As well as announcing the names, Marvel Studios confirmed the release dates for both films at San Diego's Comic-Con.

Thor: The Dark World is scheduled for release on November 8, 2013. The first Thor film was helmed by Kenneth Branagh, but Game Of Thrones' Alan Taylor will step into the director's chair for the sequel. Chris Hemsworth, Natalie Portman, Tom Hiddleston and Stellan Skarsgård have all confirmed that they will reprise their roles from the first film.

Captain America: The Winter Soldier will follow on April 4, 2014. Last year's Captain America: The First Avenger was directed by Joe Johnston, but the sequel will be steered by the Russo brothers, best known for their work on TV comedy Community. Chris Evans and Samuel L Jackson are both confirmed to return, but further casting announcements have yet to be made.

Both films will be preceded by Iron Man 3 starring Robert Downey Jr on May 3, 2013. The characters of Thor, Captain America and Iron Man appeared together in this year's record-breaking superhero ensemble movie The Avengers. Kevin Feige has previously revealed that, of the three sequels, Captain America: The Winter Soldier will be the "most closely associated with The Avengers".


Please login to add your comment.

Latest Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
NME Store & Framed Prints
New Issue Out Now
Inside NME.COM

Free weekly music news, videos and MP3s in your inbox