January 11, 2014 15:53

Alt-J member takes 'personal decision' to leave the band

Mercury Prize winners say they support Gwil Sainsbury's 'personal decision'

Alt-J member takes 'personal decision' to leave the band

Photo: PA

Alt-J have announced Gwil Sainsbury has left the band.

In a message posted on their twitter page, they said it was a personal decision by their guitarist and bass player, and they support his decision to leave. There is no further news on what remaining members Joe Newman, Thom Green and Gus Unger-Hamilton will do and whether a replacement will be sought. A spokesperson for the band said no further statement will be made for the time being.

The band, who formed in Leeds in 2007, released their debut 'An Awesome Wave' in May 2012. It went on to win the Barclaycard Mercury Prize that same year. After composing the score for last year's 'Leave To Remain', a film starring Toby Jones, the band were busy working on their second album.

Speaking to NME at the end of 2012, keyboard player Unger-Hamilton said they were writing new material, but that they wouldn't be heading into the studio to start work on the follow-up until at least September 2013 after finishing up touring and festival commitments. Unger-Hamilton added that the band had named five tracks which "sounding exciting". They played a new song called 'Warm Foothills' at live shows earlier this year. You can see the song below.

Read More On This Artist

Buy music from Alt-J at iTunes
More News
HMV chairman says it is 'a matter of time' before they are Britain's biggest...
DFA Records deny reports New Order are working with James Murphy
Flashback Festival among three Essex events cancelled due to 'unforeseen circumstances'
Kasabian cover Iggy Azalea's 'Fancy' and announce plans to perform debut album in...
Prince reveals two new songs ahead of dual album release – listen
Neil Young rumoured to be releasing orchestral album 'Storytone'
Radiohead update official app with new music
Superfood announce details of debut album 'Don't Say That' – hear new song
Disclosure working with Mary J Blige on her new album 'The London Sessions'
Marina and the Diamonds preview snippet of new track 'Froot' – listen
Ryan Adams streams new album online
Rapper Riff Raff attacks 'chubby' Sam Smith after being cut from VMAs Instagram photo
Ash's Tim Wheeler announces debut solo album 'Lost Domain' – hear first song now
Yoko Ono announces this year's recipients of the Lennon Ono Grant For Peace
Royal Blood say debut album success shows there is 'hope for guitars and riffs' – watch
Bloc Party's Kele Okereke dismisses idea of 'Silent Alarm' anniversary tour
Mercury Music Prize 2014 nominees to be revealed next week
Today's new album releases: The Kooks, Pulled Apart By Horses and more
Arcade Fire cover Wolf Parade during final, homecoming Reflektor tour show – watch
Superfood and Honeyblood to play NME New Breed Tour
Foals and The Antlers to feature in Transgressive Records' free September downloads
Representative for Ariana Grande denies leaked nude photos are real

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today