Arcade Fire's 'Reflektor' enters Official UK Album Chart at Number One

Meanwhile, Eminem's 'The Monster' denies One Direction their fourth UK Number One Single

Photo: Next Previous

Photo Gallery: Arcade Fire

Arcade Fire's 'Reflektor' has entered the Official UK Album Chart at Number One.

The Canadian band's fourth studio album has knocked Katy Perry's 'Prism' (2) off the top spot, outselling the US singer's new record by two copies to one over the past seven days, reports the Official Charts Company.

James Blunt is down one spot to Number Three with 'Moon Landing', Lorde's 'Pure Heroine' is new in at Number Four and Arctic Monkeys' 'AM' completes this week's Top 5.

Elsewhere, fresh from winning the Mercury Prize on Wednesday (October 30), James Blake's second album 'Overgrown' has rocketed from outside the Top 200 to finish the week at Number 23 in the Official UK Albums Chart.

Meanwhile, in the Official UK Singles Chart, Eminem and Rihanna have denied One Direction their fourth UK Number One Single with 'The Monster'. The track, taken from Eminem's new album 'The Marshall Mathers LP 2', is this week's Number One.

'Royals' by Lorde is at Number Two, the Calvin Harris remix of Fatboy Slim's 'Eat, Sleep, Rave, Repeat' is at Number Three, One Direction's 'Story Of My Life' is at Number Four and 'Counting Stars' by OneRepublic is at Number Five.

Tinie Tempah narrowly missed out on a Top 5 placing with his latest single, 'Children Of The Sun', entering in at Number Six. The track is taken from the rapper's hotly-anticipated second album, 'Demonstration', which is out tomorrow (November 4).

Read More On This Artist

Buy music from Arcade Fire at iTunes
More News
Lil Wayne and Drake hit the road in 'Grindin' video - watch
SBTRKT streams new song 'The Light' featuring Denai Moore - listen
George Ezra covers Cyndi Lauper's 'Girls Just Wanna Have Fun' - watch
Foo Fighters pay tribute to late Gwar frontman Oderus Urungus at crowdfunded gig
James Blake unveils new song on BBC Radio 1 show
David Bowie to release new album 'soon', says producer Tony Visconti
Six Iranians sentenced to prison and lashings for dancing to Pharrell's 'Happy' in...
All We Are announce January 2015 release date for debut album – hear first song now
Yorkshire artists cover Gang Of Four's 'Entertainment!' in special Cassette Store...
Guildford venue The Boileroom saved from closure
Richard Hawley to reissue first three albums on vinyl
Johnny Marr reveals new single 'The Trap'
Flying Lotus reveals new song 'Coronus, The Terminator' – listen
Former member of Tatu says she would 'condemn a gay son' in homophobic TV interview
Manchester orchestra covers Oasis, Sex Pistols and The Smiths – listen
Freddie Mercury and Michael Jackson duet to feature on new Queen album 'Queen Forever'
Paul Weller backs campaign to save Guildford venue The Boileroom
Prince reveals new song 'FUNKNROLL' – listen
Guided By Voices announce split and end 'comeback run' with immediate effect
Gwar replace late frontman Oderus Urungus with new singer Vulvatron
Eminem and Sia unveil lyric video for new track 'Guts Over Fear' – watch
Musicians react as Scottish voters reject independence in historic referendum

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today