September 23, 2009 9:00

Arctic Monkeys, Kings Of Leon, Bob Dylan in running for Uncut award

Super Furry Animals and The Horrors also up for consideration

Photo: Next Previous

Photo Gallery: Arctic Monkeys

Arctic Monkeys, Kings Of Leon, Bob Dylan, Super Furry Animals and The Horrors are among the acts in consideration for this year's Uncut Music Award.

Running for its second year, our sister title rewards one act for creating the "most inspiring and rewarding musical experience" released in the past year. Last year the award went to Fleet Foxes for their self-titled debut album.

An initial longlist featuring 25 acts in consideration for the award has been announced today (September 22) – see the list in full below – which will be whittled down to a shortlist of eight, announced in the November issue of Uncut (out October 27).

A winner will be chosen by a specially chosen panel of judges and announced in the January issue (out November 24).

Judging the albums will be the magazine's editor, Allan Jones, Fleet Foxes' Robin Pecknold, Billy Bragg, folk singer Rachel Unthank, radio host Christian O'Connell, BBC creative head of music entertainment Mark Cooper, Stiff Records founder Dave Robinson plus broadcasters Mark Radcliffe, Bob Harris and Danny Kelly.

"The inaugural Uncut Music Award was a resounding success," said Jones of the contest, which saw Fleet Foxes pip the likes of The Raconteurs and Vampire Weekend to the accolade.

"This year's award looks like it will be just as hotly contested, with the judges facing a daunting task. There has been a lot of brilliant music over the last year, as our long list of 25 albums vividly demonstrates. Deciding which of them most merits winning the 2009 Uncut Music Award is going to be an exciting process, but no easy task."

The Uncut Music Award longlist is:

The Acorn – 'Glory Hope Mountain'
Animal Collective – 'Merriweather Post Pavilion'
Arctic Monkeys – 'Humbug'
Bill Callahan – 'Sometimes I Wish We Were An Eagle'
Graham Coxon – 'The Spinning Top'
Alela Diane – 'To Be Still'
Dirty Projectors – 'Bitte Orca'
Doves – 'Kingdom Of Rust'
The Duke And The King – 'Nothing Gold Can Stay'
Bob Dylan – 'Together Through Life'
Fever Ray – 'Fever Ray'
Grizzly Bear – 'Veckatimest'
Levon Helm – 'Electric Dirt'
The Horrors – 'Primary Colours'
Kings Of Leon – 'Only By The Night'
The Low Anthem – 'Oh My God Charlie Darwin'
Madness – 'The Liberty Of Norton Folgate'
Raphael Saadiq – 'The Way I See It'
Super Furry Animals – 'Dark Days/Light Years'
TV On The Radio – 'Dear Science'
Tinariwen – 'Imidiwan: Companions'
White Denim – 'Fits'
Wilco – 'Wilco (The Album)'
Wild Beasts – 'Two Dancers'
The xx – 'xx'

Read More On This Artist

More News
HMV chairman says it is 'a matter of time' before they are Britain's biggest...
DFA Records deny reports New Order are working with James Murphy
Flashback Festival among three Essex events cancelled due to 'unforeseen circumstances'
Kasabian cover Iggy Azalea's 'Fancy' and announce plans to perform debut album in...
Prince reveals two new songs ahead of dual album release – listen
Neil Young rumoured to be releasing orchestral album 'Storytone'
Radiohead update official app with new music
Superfood announce details of debut album 'Don't Say That' – hear new song
Disclosure working with Mary J Blige on her new album 'The London Sessions'
Marina and the Diamonds preview snippet of new track 'Froot' – listen
Ryan Adams streams new album online
Rapper Riff Raff attacks 'chubby' Sam Smith after being cut from VMAs Instagram photo
Ash's Tim Wheeler announces debut solo album 'Lost Domain' – hear first song now
Yoko Ono announces this year's recipients of the Lennon Ono Grant For Peace
Royal Blood say debut album success shows there is 'hope for guitars and riffs' – watch
Bloc Party's Kele Okereke dismisses idea of 'Silent Alarm' anniversary tour
Mercury Music Prize 2014 nominees to be revealed next week
Today's new album releases: The Kooks, Pulled Apart By Horses and more
Arcade Fire cover Wolf Parade during final, homecoming Reflektor tour show – watch
Superfood and Honeyblood to play NME New Breed Tour
Foals and The Antlers to feature in Transgressive Records' free September downloads
Representative for Ariana Grande denies leaked nude photos are real

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today