July 11, 2013 17:57

Kathleen Hanna's new band The Julie Ruin unveil debut video - watch

'Oh Come On' is the first track taken from the band's debut album 'Run Fast', due September

Kathleen Hanna's new band The Julie Ruin unveil debut video - watch

Photo: PA

The Julie Ruin, the new band fronted by former Bikini Kill and Le Tigre singer Kathleen Hanna, have unveiled the video for 'Oh Come On'. Scroll down and click 'play' to watch it.

'Oh Come On' is the first track to be taken from the band's debut album 'Run Fast', which will be released on September 3. Other tracks slated to appear on the album include 'Girls Like Us' and 'Just My Kind', which was mixed by James Murphy.

The Julie Ruin formed in 2010 in New York. The band is made up of Hanna, Sara Landeau on guitar, Kathi Wilcox – also formerly of Bikini Kill - on bass, Kenny Mellman on keys and Carmine Covelli on drums.

Speaking to MTV Hive recently, Hanna (pictured right with Le Tigre) revealed that the album won't stick to any one theme or genre, saying: "We just let ourselves write everything that we wanted to write. We weren't like, 'Everything has to sound the same way'."

She also cited Janelle Monae's debut album 'The ArchAndroid' as an inspiration. "Her record a couple of years ago was so amazing because every single song was different, and it felt like you were going on a really crazy ride and you didn't know what would happen when you turned a corner," Hanna said. "We wanted that more than we wanted a central narrative. We tried to have a lot of variation on it."

Read More On This Artist

More News
HMV chairman says it is 'a matter of time' before they are Britain's biggest...
DFA Records deny reports New Order are working with James Murphy
Flashback Festival among three Essex events cancelled due to 'unforeseen circumstances'
Kasabian cover Iggy Azalea's 'Fancy' and announce plans to perform debut album in...
Prince reveals two new songs ahead of dual album release – listen
Neil Young rumoured to be releasing orchestral album 'Storytone'
Radiohead update official app with new music
Superfood announce details of debut album 'Don't Say That' – hear new song
Disclosure working with Mary J Blige on her new album 'The London Sessions'
Marina and the Diamonds preview snippet of new track 'Froot' – listen
Ryan Adams streams new album online
Rapper Riff Raff attacks 'chubby' Sam Smith after being cut from VMAs Instagram photo
Ash's Tim Wheeler announces debut solo album 'Lost Domain' – hear first song now
Yoko Ono announces this year's recipients of the Lennon Ono Grant For Peace
Royal Blood say debut album success shows there is 'hope for guitars and riffs' – watch
Bloc Party's Kele Okereke dismisses idea of 'Silent Alarm' anniversary tour
Mercury Music Prize 2014 nominees to be revealed next week
Today's new album releases: The Kooks, Pulled Apart By Horses and more
Arcade Fire cover Wolf Parade during final, homecoming Reflektor tour show – watch
Superfood and Honeyblood to play NME New Breed Tour
Foals and The Antlers to feature in Transgressive Records' free September downloads
Representative for Ariana Grande denies leaked nude photos are real

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today