Bill Callahan announces release of new album 'Dream River'

The artist formerly known as Smog will release his fourth album under his own name in September

Bill Callahan announces release of new album 'Dream River'

Photo: Press

Cult singer-songwriter Bill Callahan has announced the release of his brand new album, 'Dream River'.

The artist, who formerly recorded as Smog, will put out his fourth LP under his own name on September 16. Recorded at the Cacophony Recorders studio in Austin, Texas - which has also been used by M Ward, My Morning Jacket, White Denim and Explosions In The Sky - the eight track album follows 2011's 'Apocalypse', 2009's 'Sometimes I Wish We Were an Eagle' and 2007's 'Woke on a Whaleheart'.

Callahan will be supporting the record's release with a full tour this autumn, details of which will be announced shortly. The album will come out on his long-term label, Drag City.

The 'Dream River' tracklisting is:

'The Sing'
'Javelin Unlanding'
'Small Plane'
'Ride My Arrow'
'Summer Painter'
'Winter Road'

More News
Royal Blood 'wanted to support Foo Fighters before even starting the band'
Ben Howard calls audience 'bunch of cunts' during shambolic Norwich gig
Taylor Swift was surprised at industry's reaction to her decision to leave Spotify
Ride, Bastille, Duran Duran and more to play tiny War Child gigs
Noel Gallagher's teenage daughter recalls how he embarrassed her in front of Harry Styles
Manics' Nicky Wire: 'There hasn't been a decent attempt at a Christmas single in...
Radio 1 music boss tells The Killers' Brandon Flowers: 'You're not too old to make...
John Lydon: 'Ukip's talk about immigration is subdued racism'
Brandon Flowers says second solo album is 'definitely going to be different'
Lucy Rose announces UK tour and promises to play new material
Sleaford Mods' Jason Williamson: 'Bono's such a massive cunt'
Future Islands' Samuel T Herring feared he 'was going to die' earlier this year
Madonna calls new album leak 'a form of terrorism'
New Official Chart Show host Clara Amfo is 'surprised at how nice everyone's been'
Wiley reschedules tour following unrelated shooting outside London venue
Wu-Tang's RZA: 'I used to do rap battles on the spot where Eric Garner was killed'
Pond unveil new video for track 'Sitting Up on Our Crane' - watch
The 1975 named as the hardest-working band this year with 195 shows in 29 countries
Muse update fans on new album as they record with orchestra in Milan – watch
Apple did not intentionally delete music from users' iPods, jury finds
Scott Stapp alleges that 'the heart of ISIS is in my own family' in uncovered 911 calls...
Florence & The Machine and Alt-J added to Flow Festival line-up

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Inside NME.COM