Bloc Party announce brand new 'Nextwave Sessions' EP

The five-track release comes out on August 12

Photo: Next Previous

Photo Gallery: Bloc Party

Bloc Party are set to release brand new material in the shape of the 'Nextwave Sessions' EP.

Comprising five tracks, the EP is set for release on August 12. The opening two songs, 'Ratchet' and 'Obscene', were produced by Dan Carey. The EP also features 'French Exit', 'Montreal' and 'Children Of The Future'. Of 'Ratchet', frontman Kele Okereke said: "'Ratchet' was the first song we recorded with Dan. It really came together while we were on tour in 2012. We started slipping it into the sets at the start of this year just to try it out and the reactions were insane. We knew we had something special."

The 'Nextwave Sessions' tracklisting is:

'French Exit'
'Children Of The Future'

Despite the release, Bloc Party have said they will be going on hiatus after their headline set at Latitude on July 19. The band's guitarist Russell Lissack told Postmedia News: "Definitely after we finish the festivals in the summer we'll be taking some time off. At least six months, maybe a year, maybe two years, it's hard to say."

Explaining why the band won't be imposing any kind of time frame on their hiatus, Lissack added: "Once we start taking time off people start doing their own thing. So once people start doing things, then you'll start naturally extending how long we spend apart."

Bloc Party previously took an extended break between 2009's 'Intimacy' LP and last year's comeback album, 'Four'. "The last record, 'Intimacy', when we toured that it was probably more lows than highs due to the relationships in the band not being very good and lack of communication and people not enjoying what we were doing," Lissack recalled.

Read More On This Artist

More News
Noel Gallagher focuses on "brilliant" new album at Royal Albert Hall
Charli XCX and Sophie collaboration previewed - watch
Beck's 'Morning Phase' goes silver in UK after selling 60,000 copies
Zayn Malik looks to go solo after being pictured in recording studio with Naughty Boy
Justin Bieber joins Ariana Grande onstage to perform 'All That Matters' live - watch
Depeche Mode's Martin Gore announces solo album 'MG' and shares 'Europa...
East 17's Brian Harvey discusses struggles with depression and mental illness
Alt-J album 'This Is All Yours' certified gold in the UK
Jessie Ware joins Nicki Minaj onstage in London to perform 'The Crying Game' - watch
Destiny's Child reunite to perform at Stellar Gospel Music Awards - watch
Def Jam rapper's manager killed in a car park after planning anti-violence initiatives
Selfie sticks banned at US festivals
Jamie xx and Four Tet join forces on BBC Radio 1 – listen now
Prince in legal battle after releasing former The Voice contestant's album for free
New Tupac music to get future release
Beastie Boy Ad-Rock avoids touching 'monster' fish on Jimmy Fallon show
Major Lazer: 'England doesn't like us for some reason'
Leon Bridges performs 'Better Man' on 'The Late Late Show with James Corden'...
T-Pain releases new mixtape 'The Iron Way'
Death Cab for Cutie's Ben Gibbard covers Guided By Voices – watch
The Vaccines air four new songs in Nottingham
Footage from Kendrick Lamar's moving truck performance released as Reebok ad – watch

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Inside NME.COM