Buy Tickets

The pair were previously involved in a feud in the 00's

The Courteeners‘ Liam Fray has spoken out in defence of former rivals The Enemy, slamming the media’s treatment of the band as ‘mean’.

The Enemy announced their split early this year before a sold out farewell tour, citing lack of support from the media as one of the reasons for their break-up. Frontman Tom Clarke later quit Twitter, blasted ‘jealous and inept’ journalists and revealed his battles with anxiety and depression after articles were published comparing him to ‘a hobbit’.

Despite Clarke and Fray being involved in a war of words in a well publicised feud in the late 00s, now The Courteeners frontman has jumped to their defence and damned the journalists who attacked him.

“It was mean, it was totally uncalled for,” Fray told NME. “We had cross words back then, but it was just handbags at dawn, it was all over in a matter of weeks. But it just pissed me off when I see stuff like that, it was just uncalled for, and there was just no need. I know people are gonna say the pot calling the kettle black but I’m not a journalist putting this band down. I don’t know, it’s like whatever.”

The Courteeners' Liam Fray

Getty

Speaking of The Enemy’s devoted fan base, Fray said: “They meant a lot to a lot of people, yet because a band isn’t fashionable, there are tastemakers who dictate what they deem to be fashionable, and there are people who connect and you can’t say that it’s not connecting and that people don’t want to go.”

Read more: Why the world should mourn The Enemy

Liam continued: “If you’re in a band right, you’re there to be shot at, it doesn’t matter what sort of music you do, I don’t think it’s necessarily right to do this but reviewers and critics and what not, that’s their job, I don’t mind, I’m cool with that, that’s the way it goes but when people start having a go at people’s fan bases and writing them off, you can feel this kind of sneery classist undertone and that’s not okay, that’s really really uncool.”

Fray also told NME of the band’s ‘special plans’ to honour the couple who bought 67 tickets to their upcoming Manchester Emirates Old Trafford LCC show for a wedding reception party.

The Courteeners release their fifth album, ‘Mapping The Rendezvous’ on Friday 28 October. Read the full NME review and verdict here.

The Courteeners’ full upcoming UK and Ireland tour dates are below.

Thu November 10 2016 – STOKE Victoria Hall
Fri November 11 2016 – SOUTHAMPTON O2 Guildhall
Sat November 12 2016 – LONDON O2 Academy Brixton
Mon November 14 2016 – BRISTOL O2 Academy Bristol
Tue November 15 2016 – NORWICH UEA
Thu November 17 2016 – BIRMINGHAM O2 Academy Birmingham
Fri November 18 2016 – LIVERPOOL Echo Arena
Sat November 19 2016 – GLASGOW SSE Hydro
Mon November 21 2016 – NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE O2 Academy Newcastle
Tue November 22 2016 – NOTTINGHAM Rock City
Thu November 24 2016 – CARLISLE Sands Centre
Fri November 25 2016 – LEEDS first direct Arena
Wed December 7 2016 – DUBLIN Academy
Thursday December 8 2016 – Belfast Limelight

Sat May 27 2017 – MANCHESTER Emirates Old Trafford