Crystal Castles, Broken Social Scene and Caribou among Polaris Music Prize nominees

Holy Fuck and Owen Pallet also up for Canada's equivalent of the Mercury Prize

Photo: Next Previous

Photo Gallery: Crystal Castles

Crystal Castles, Broken Social Scene and Caribou are among the nominees for this year's Polaris Music Prize.

The annual award, which is Canada's equivalent of the Mercury Prize, goes to the "best full-length Canadian album, judged solely on artistic merit, without regard to genre or record sales".

Voted for by almost 200 music journalists, broadcasters and bloggers from across Canada, the initial list comprises of the jury's top 40 albums released between June 1, 2009 and May 31, 2010.

A short list of 10 albums will be revealed on July 6, with the eventual winner also set to receive $20,000.

Last year Fucked Up scooped the coveted award and prize money for their album 'The Chemistry Of Common Life'.

The full list of nominees for this year's Polaris Music Prize is:

Apollo Ghosts - 'Mount Benson'
Bahamas - 'Pink Strat'
The Besnard Lakes - 'The Besnard Lakes Are The Roaring Night'
Blue Rodeo - 'The Things We Left Behind'
Brasstronaut - 'Mt. Chimaera'
Broken Social Scene - 'Forgiveness Rock Record'
Basia Bulat - 'Heart Of My Own'
By Divine Right - 'Mutant Message'
Caribou – 'Swim'
Jason Collett - 'Rat A Tat Tat'
Crystal Castles - 'Crystal Castles' (II)
Amelia Curran - 'Hunter Hunter'
Fred Fortin - 'Plastrer La Lune'
Frog Eyes - 'Paul's Tomb: A Triumph'
Hannah Georgas - 'This Is Good'
Ghostkeeper - 'Ghostkeeper'
Holy Fuck - 'Latin'
Karkwa - 'Les Chemins De Verre'
LeE HARVeY OsMOND - 'A Quiet Evil'
Greg MacPherson - 'Mr. Invitation'
Dan Mangan - 'Nice, Nice, Very Nice'
Misteur Valaire - 'Golden Bombay'
The New Pornographers - 'Together'
Owen Pallett - 'Heartland'
Plants And Animals - 'La La Land'
Radio Radio - 'Belmundo Regal'
Justin Rutledge - 'The Early Widows'
The Sadies - 'Darker Circles'
Shad - 'TSOL'
Elizabeth Shepherd - 'Heavy Falls The Night'
The Slew - '100%'
Meaghan Smith - 'The Cricket's Orchestra'
South Rakkas Crew - 'The Stimulus Package'
Tegan And Sara - 'Sainthood'
The Wooden Sky - 'If I Don't Come Home You'll Know I'm Gone'
Hawksley Workman - 'Meat'
'You Say Party! We Say Die! - 'XXXX'
Young Galaxy - 'Invisible Republic'
Yukon Blonde - 'Yukon Blonde'
Zeus - 'Say Us'

Read More On This Artist

More News
Will Butler shares new Christmas song 'Christmas 2014' - listen
Gucci Mane releases Christmas album
Google to start publishing lyrics online
Sleaford Mods criticise UKIP and cereal "jesters" in alternative Christmas Queen's...
Thom Yorke tops list of most legally downloaded artists on BitTorrent in 2014
Fat White Family share new song for Christmas - watch
Radio 1 boss George Ergatoudis: 'There's no reason why there couldn't be a new...
Gerard Way: 'I miss the theatricality of My Chemical Romance'
14 more songs from Madonna's upcoming album leak online, including Pharrell collaboration
St Vincent hosts radio show for BBC 6 Music's 'Three Wise Women' Christmas...
The War on Drugs' Adam Granduciel: 'I didn't like the way Mark Kozelek criticised...
Avril Lavigne denies rumours that she's in rehab
Prince shares lyric video for 'ANOTHERLOVE' - watch
Arctic Monkeys share short documentary film to mark end of 'AM' world tour
Wale and A-Trak release new Seinfeld-themed 'Festivus' mixtape
Madonna asks fans not to listen to her leaked album tracks
Bryan Ferry's son Merlin injured in car crash
One Direction sing 'Santa Claus Is Coming To Town' with Jimmy Fallon and The Roots - watch
Footage emerges of a young Björk telling the nativity story - watch
Kanye West impersonator turns 'Yeezus' into a Christmas album - listen
$39 million settlement reached for 2011 Sugarland stage collapse which killed seven
Darkside's Dave Harrington joined by Antlers' frontman for Joni Mitchell cover - listen

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Inside NME.COM