Cypress Hill to release new album in 2014

B-Real, Sen Dog and producer DJ Muggs back together for first time since 2004

Cypress Hill to release new album in 2014

Photo: PA

Cypress Hill are working on a new album together, their first as a trio since 2004.

The US hip-hop group last worked released an album in 2004 with 'Till Death Do Us Part'. However, it can be revealed that B-Real, Sen Dog and producer DJ Muggs are working on its follow up at the Soul Assassins Studio in Los Angeles, with a late spring release date expected.

The three original Cypress Hill members have all embarked on solo projects in the intermittent years, but the new album will mark their first album together in 10 years.

"We're in the beginning stages but moving along smoothly," DJ Muggs says in a statement. "The sound is anti-everything that's popular and is in a world of its own. The lyrics delivered with the vocal tenacity of a stoned gypsy roaming across the country through the mist. The date of the release is encrypted on the Cypress Hill website."

Meanwhile, B-Real adds: "It's great to have DJ Muggs back at the helm of the production. When Muggs, Sen and I work together there's a chemistry between us that brings forth powerful music. It's going to be ill, man. He's got fire and a lot of people have been waiting for us to reunite like that, so we're all looking forward to it."

In 2010, Cypress Hill released their eighth studio album 'Rise Up', the group's first album not produced by DJ Muggs. Guests on the album included Tom Morello, Linkin Park's Mike Shinoda and rapper Pitbull. Cypress Hill released their self-titled debut album in 1991.

Read More On This Artist

More News
SBTRKT streams new song 'The Light' featuring Denai Moore - listen
George Ezra covers Cyndi Lauper's 'Girls Just Wanna Have Fun' - watch
Foo Fighters pay tribute to late Gwar frontman Oderus Urungus at crowdfunded gig
James Blake unveils new song on BBC Radio 1 show
David Bowie to release new album 'soon', says producer Tony Visconti
Six Iranians sentenced to prison and lashings for dancing to Pharrell's 'Happy' in...
All We Are announce January 2015 release date for debut album – hear first song now
Yorkshire artists cover Gang Of Four's 'Entertainment!' in special Cassette Store...
Guildford venue The Boileroom saved from closure
Richard Hawley to reissue first three albums on vinyl
Johnny Marr reveals new single 'The Trap'
Flying Lotus reveals new song 'Coronus, The Terminator' – listen
Former member of Tatu says she would 'condemn a gay son' in homophobic TV interview
Manchester orchestra covers Oasis, Sex Pistols and The Smiths – listen
Freddie Mercury and Michael Jackson duet to feature on new Queen album 'Queen Forever'
Paul Weller backs campaign to save Guildford venue The Boileroom
Prince reveals new song 'FUNKNROLL' – listen
Guided By Voices announce split and end 'comeback run' with immediate effect
Gwar replace late frontman Oderus Urungus with new singer Vulvatron
Eminem and Sia unveil lyric video for new track 'Guts Over Fear' – watch
Musicians react as Scottish voters reject independence in historic referendum
Laura Jane Grace tweets about 'shitbag' ex-Against Me drummer rumoured to have joined...

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today