Daft Punk bag first ever UK Number One album with 'Random Access Memories'

However, 'Get Lucky' is knocked off the top spot in the Official UK Singles Chart by Naughty Boy's 'La La La'

Daft Punk bag first ever UK Number One album with 'Random Access Memories'

Photo: Press

Daft Punk have bagged their first ever Official UK Number One album with 'Random Access Memories'.

The French duo's fourth studio LP has also become the fastest-selling album of 2013, selling a massive 165,000 copies in its first week. This beats the previous fastest-seller, Michael Buble's 'To Be Loved', which sold more than 121,000 copies in its first week, reports the Official Charts Company.

Last week's chart-topper, Rod Stewart's 'Time', drops one place to Number Two, The National score a second consecutive Top 5 album with 'Trouble Will Find Me' entering at Number Three. Texas are at Number Four with their comeback album 'The Conversation, while 30 Seconds To Mars are at Number Five with 'Love Lust Faith + Dreams'.

Meanwhile, Emeli Sande's 'Our Version Of Events' has dropped out of the Official Albums Chart Top 10 for the first time since its release in February 2012. The Scottish singer's debut record has dropped seven places to Number 15 after spending a staggering 66 weeks in the Top 10.

In the Official UK Singles Chart, Naughty Boy has knocked Daft Punk's 'Get Lucky' off the stop spot. 'La La La', featuring Sam Smith, is the fastest-selling UK single so far this year, clocking up 145,000 copies sold in its first week.

'Get Lucky' falls to Number Two after four consecutive weeks at Number One, Passenger's 'Let Her Go is at Number Three, while Macklemore & Ryan Lewis' 'Can't Hold Us' is at Number Four. Rudimental's 'Waiting All Night' completes this week's Top 5.

Read More On This Artist

Daft Punk Merchandise
More News
Lauryn Hill's London comeback show subject to harsh Twitter criticism
Tatu's Lena Katina responds to bandmate's homophobia: 'People should be free to...
Producer Tony Visconti says he was misquoted over 'new David Bowie album' comment
La Roux: 'I've never made any money from record sales'
Kendrick Lamar downplays guest appearances on new album
Jamie T: 'Damon Albarn told me to write from the heart'
Stevie Nicks unveils title track from '24 Karat Gold: Songs From The Vault' - listen
Kanye West shares photos from his community service fashion class
Will Ferrell and Red Hot Chili Peppers' Chad Smith cover The Rolling Stones - watch
Foo Fighters announce January 2015 live dates
Johnny Flynn stars in new trailer for Channel 4 sitcom 'Scrotal Recall' - watch
Bishop Nehru and Doom preview NehruvianDOOM album with new track 'Caskets' – listen
Matt Bellamy hints at World War 3 theme and guitar solos for new Muse album
SBTRKT previews new album 'Wonder Where We Land' at iTunes Festival in London
Iceage reveal new song 'How Many' - listen
Trent Reznor previews 'Gone Girl' soundtrack ahead of cinema release
Members of Arcade Fire, The Strokes and Bon Iver form Pop All Star Band supergroup
Lil Wayne and Drake hit the road in 'Grindin' video - watch
SBTRKT streams new song 'The Light' featuring Denai Moore - listen
George Ezra covers Cyndi Lauper's 'Girls Just Wanna Have Fun' - watch
Foo Fighters pay tribute to late Gwar frontman Oderus Urungus at crowdfunded gig
James Blake unveils new song on BBC Radio 1 show

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today