June 2, 2013 17:42

Daft Punk remain top of the Official UK Album Chart for second week with 'Random Access Memories'

Meanwhile, Robin Thicke is the Official UK Singles chart Number One with 'Blurred Lines'

Daft Punk remain top of the Official UK Album Chart for second week with 'Random Access Memories'

Photo: PA

Daft Punk remain at the top of the Official UK Album Chart for a second consecutive week with 'Random Access Memories'.

Last week, the French electro duo's fourth studio LP became the fastest-selling album of 2013 so far, after shifting 165,000 copies in its first week alone. Seven days on, the record has sold a further 53,000 units to hold onto the Number One spot, reports the Official Charts Company.

Rod Stewart holds firm at Number Two with his new album 'Time', while Laura Marling scores her highest charting album to date, with her latest record 'Once I Was An Eagle' entering in at Number Three. Passenger's 'All The Little Lights' is at Number Four and Rudimental's 'Home' completes this week's Top 5.

Elsewhere, girl group Stooshe are this week's second highest new entry with their debut album, 'London With Lights On', entering in at Number Eight. US rockers Alice In Chains are new in at Number 22 with 'The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here'.

In the Official UK Singles Chart, Robin Thicke, collaborating with TI and Pharrell Williams, is this week's Number One with 'Blurred Lines'. The track is also the fastest-selling single of the year so far, selling a staggering 190,000 copies in its first week alone.

In doing so, the song topples the previous fastest-selling single, Naughty Boy and Sam Smith's 'La La La', from the top of the chart, as it moves down one space to Number Two. Daft Punk's 'Get Lucky' is at Number Three and Passenger's 'Let Her Go' is at Number Four'. Jessie J, Big Sean and Dizzee Rascal's 'Wild' is new in at Number Five.

Read More On This Artist

Daft Punk Merchandise
More News
Jessie Ware reveals new song 'Want Your Feeling' – listen
Everything Everything share picture from studio as they begin recording new album
TV On The Radio reveal new song 'Happy Idiot' – listen
Julian Casablancas + The Voidz confirm 'Tyranny' album details
HMV chairman says it is 'a matter of time' before they are Britain's biggest...
DFA Records deny reports New Order are working with James Murphy
Flashback Festival among three Essex events cancelled due to 'unforeseen circumstances'
Kasabian cover Iggy Azalea's 'Fancy' and announce plans to perform debut album in...
Prince reveals two new songs ahead of dual album release – listen
Neil Young rumoured to be releasing orchestral album 'Storytone'
Radiohead update official app with new music
Superfood announce details of debut album 'Don't Say That' – hear new song
Disclosure working with Mary J Blige on her new album 'The London Sessions'
Marina and the Diamonds preview snippet of new track 'Froot' – listen
Ryan Adams streams new album online
Rapper Riff Raff attacks 'chubby' Sam Smith after being cut from VMAs Instagram photo
Ash's Tim Wheeler announces debut solo album 'Lost Domain' – hear first song now
Yoko Ono announces this year's recipients of the Lennon Ono Grant For Peace
Royal Blood say debut album success shows there is 'hope for guitars and riffs' – watch
Bloc Party's Kele Okereke dismisses idea of 'Silent Alarm' anniversary tour
Mercury Music Prize 2014 nominees to be revealed next week
Today's new album releases: The Kooks, Pulled Apart By Horses and more

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today