David Bowie to release his own favourite tracks on compilation

It also features two rare recordings

David Bowie to release his own favourite tracks on compilation
David Bowie has announced that he will release a compilation of his own favourite tracks, which he hand-selected earlier this year.

Originally a giveaway with the 'Mail On Sunday' in June, 'iSELECT: BOWIE' sold out in one day. Now Virgin/EMI will release it widely on October 14.

Rather than a greatest-hits compilation, it features 12 tracks spanning Bowie's career, which he said he "never seems to tire of", as well as two tracks exclusive to this CD.

The collection also includes Bowie's notes about the songs. Speaking about 'Lady Grinning Soul', from 1973's 'Aladdin Sane', he said, "It was written for a wonderful young girl whom I've not seen for more than 30 years. When I hear this song she's still in her 20s, of course. A song will put you tantalizingly close to the past, so close that you can almost reach out and touch it. The sound of ghosts again."

The compilation also features tracks that he re-recorded or remixed for this collection.

The album tracklisting is:

'Life On Mars?'
'Sweet Thing/Candidate/Sweet Thing'
'The Bewlay Brothers'
'Lady Grinning Soul'
'Some Are'
'Teenage Wildlife'
'Fantastic Voyage'
'Loving The Alien'
'Time Will Crawl'
'Hang On To Yourself'

--By our Los Angeles staff.
[url="/about"] Find out more about NME.[/url]

Read More On This Artist

David Bowie Merchandise
More News
SBTRKT streams new song 'The Light' featuring Denai Moore - listen
George Ezra covers Cyndi Lauper's 'Girls Just Wanna Have Fun' - watch
Foo Fighters pay tribute to late Gwar frontman Oderus Urungus at crowdfunded gig
James Blake unveils new song on BBC Radio 1 show
David Bowie to release new album 'soon', says producer Tony Visconti
Six Iranians sentenced to prison and lashings for dancing to Pharrell's 'Happy' in...
All We Are announce January 2015 release date for debut album – hear first song now
Yorkshire artists cover Gang Of Four's 'Entertainment!' in special Cassette Store...
Guildford venue The Boileroom saved from closure
Richard Hawley to reissue first three albums on vinyl
Johnny Marr reveals new single 'The Trap'
Flying Lotus reveals new song 'Coronus, The Terminator' – listen
Former member of Tatu says she would 'condemn a gay son' in homophobic TV interview
Manchester orchestra covers Oasis, Sex Pistols and The Smiths – listen
Freddie Mercury and Michael Jackson duet to feature on new Queen album 'Queen Forever'
Paul Weller backs campaign to save Guildford venue The Boileroom
Prince reveals new song 'FUNKNROLL' – listen
Guided By Voices announce split and end 'comeback run' with immediate effect
Gwar replace late frontman Oderus Urungus with new singer Vulvatron
Eminem and Sia unveil lyric video for new track 'Guts Over Fear' – watch
Musicians react as Scottish voters reject independence in historic referendum
Laura Jane Grace tweets about 'shitbag' ex-Against Me drummer rumoured to have joined...

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today