David Bowie's 'lost' 2001 album 'Toy' appears online

14-track album features re-recorded songs from back catalogue

David Bowie's 'lost' 2001 album 'Toy' appears online

Photo: Press

David Bowie's shelved album from 2001, 'Toy', has appeared online.

A high quality rip of the 14-track album appeared on file-sharing sites on Sunday (March 20) and has been shared by fans since.

The album features re-recorded and revamped versions of some of Bowie’s earliest tracks. It was due to be released as a follow-up to 1999's 'Hours…' but was shelved after a dispute between Bowie and his then-label Virgin.

Two tracks from the album, 'Uncle Floyd' and 'Afraid', made it onto 2002’s 'Heathen'. Three others, 'Baby Loves That Way', 'Shadow Man' and 'You’ve Got A Habit Of Leaving', were released as b-sides.

It is not known who leaked the album. Rolling Stone reports that Bowie's office "declined to comment" on the leak.

The 'Toy' tracklisting is:

'Uncle Floyd'
'Baby Loves That Way'
'I Dig Everything'
'Conversation Piece'
'Let Me Sleep Beside You'
'Toy (Your Turn To Drive)'
'Hole In The Ground'
'Shadow Man'
'In The Heat Of The Morning'
'You've Got A Habit Of Leaving'
'Silly Boy Blue'
'Liza Jane'
'The London Boys'

Bowie last studio album was 2003’s 'Reality'. He has, aside from a few guest appearances with the likes of Arcade Fire and Scarlett Johansson, been on musical hiatus since his heart surgery in 2004.

Read More On This Artist

David Bowie Merchandise
More News
Wu-Tang Clan tried to get James Blake to feature on 'A Better Tomorrow'
Royal Blood 'wanted to support Foo Fighters before even starting the band'
Taylor Swift was surprised at industry's reaction to her decision to leave Spotify
Ride, Bastille, Duran Duran and more to play tiny War Child gigs
Noel Gallagher's teenage daughter recalls how he embarrassed her in front of Harry Styles
Manics' Nicky Wire: 'There hasn't been a decent attempt at a Christmas single in...
Radio 1 music boss tells The Killers' Brandon Flowers: 'You're not too old to make...
John Lydon: 'Ukip's talk about immigration is subdued racism'
Brandon Flowers says second solo album is 'definitely going to be different'
Lucy Rose announces UK tour and promises to play new material
Sleaford Mods' Jason Williamson: 'Bono's such a massive cunt'
Future Islands' Samuel T Herring feared he 'was going to die' earlier this year
Madonna calls new album leak 'a form of terrorism'
New Official Chart Show host Clara Amfo is 'surprised at how nice everyone's been'
Wiley reschedules tour following unrelated shooting outside London venue
Wu-Tang's RZA: 'I used to do rap battles on the spot where Eric Garner was killed'
Pond unveil new video for track 'Sitting Up on Our Crane' - watch
The 1975 named as the hardest-working band this year with 195 shows in 29 countries
Muse update fans on new album as they record with orchestra in Milan – watch
Apple did not intentionally delete music from users' iPods, jury finds
Scott Stapp alleges that 'the heart of ISIS is in my own family' in uncovered 911 calls...
Florence & The Machine and Alt-J added to Flow Festival line-up

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Inside NME.COM