By ,

Deerhoof to release new album ‘La Isla Bonita’

American/Japanese quartet to release 13th album for their 20th anniversary

Deerhoof to release new album ‘La Isla Bonita’

Photo: Press

Deerhoof are to release new album ‘La Isla Bonita’ on November 3, 20 years after they formed in San Francisco.

The follow-up to 2012’s ‘Breakup Song’, it’s the four-piece’s first album to be made with an outside producer, Nick Sylvester, a former Pitchfork music journalist who was an early champion of the band.

The album was inspired by Deerhoof trying to write a song similar to their live cover of The Ramones’ ‘Pinhead’. It resulted in album opener ‘Exit Only’, which can be heard below. Drummer Greg Saunier said: “We suddenly realised ‘This is the whole thing, this is what the whole record is about.’”

Demos were recorded for a week at guitarist Ed Rodriguez’s home in Oregon before being sent to Sylvester, now the head of Godmode Records. Saunier said: “No-one gave much thought to microphone placement or other technical matters.”

Saunier founded the band in 1994 with guitarist Rob Fisk, initially solely for improvisations and jams, but they released their first album 'The Man, The King, The Girl' in 1997 after singer Satomi Matsuzaki joined a week after moving to the US from Japan.

Joanna Newsom had a short-lived side-project band, Nervous Cop, with Saunier and session drummer Zach Hill. They released one self-titled album in 2003.

Read More On This Artist

More News
Will Ferrell and Red Hot Chili Peppers' Chad Smith cover The Rolling Stones - watch
Foo Fighters announce January 2015 live dates
Johnny Flynn stars in new trailer for Channel 4 sitcom 'Scrotal Recall' - watch
Bishop Nehru and Doom preview NehruvianDOOM album with new track 'Caskets' – listen
Matt Bellamy hints at World War 3 theme and guitar solos for new Muse album
SBTRKT previews new album 'Wonder Where We Land' at iTunes Festival in London
Iceage reveal new song 'How Many' - listen
Trent Reznor previews 'Gone Girl' soundtrack ahead of cinema release
Members of Arcade Fire, The Strokes and Bon Iver form Pop All Star Band supergroup
Lil Wayne and Drake hit the road in 'Grindin' video - watch
SBTRKT streams new song 'The Light' featuring Denai Moore - listen
George Ezra covers Cyndi Lauper's 'Girls Just Wanna Have Fun' - watch
Foo Fighters pay tribute to late Gwar frontman Oderus Urungus at crowdfunded gig
James Blake unveils new song on BBC Radio 1 show
David Bowie to release new album 'soon', says producer Tony Visconti
Six Iranians sentenced to prison and lashings for dancing to Pharrell's 'Happy' in...
All We Are announce January 2015 release date for debut album – hear first song now
Yorkshire artists cover Gang Of Four's 'Entertainment!' in special Cassette Store...
Guildford venue The Boileroom saved from closure
Richard Hawley to reissue first three albums on vinyl
Johnny Marr reveals new single 'The Trap'
Flying Lotus reveals new song 'Coronus, The Terminator' – listen

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today