February 1, 2007 15:47

New Dexys Midnight Runners track surfaces online

It's the band's first new material in 22 years

New Dexys Midnight Runners track surfaces online
The first Dexys Midnight Runners track in 22 years has been made available online.

The untitled demo from the band’s long-awaited fourth album, ‘It’s OK Joanna’, has been posted on frontman Kevin Rowland’s official MySpace page atmyspace.com/dexysmidnightrunners.

The band had two Number one singles - 'Geno' in 1980 and 'Come On Eileen' in 1982. Their last album, ‘Don’t Stand Me Down’, was released in 1985, shortly after which they split.

Rowland, who is also writing a book, reformed Dexys Midnight Runners in 2003 for a sell-out tour, and a message to fans on his MySpace page claims that it was this positive response that convinced the band to reform.

The message reads:

“In 2003, Dexys were at last reinvented for a critically acclaimed and rapturously received tour. Again, it wasn’t a greatest hits tour, and many of the ideas approaches that were received with bewilderment in 1985 were employed again. But this time, those ideas were understood and very warmly welcomed. The world had caught up with us. 2007 could be a good year for fans of Kevin and Dexys.”

Read More On This Artist

More News
Hudson Mohawke to release 'Chimes' EP in September
Lily Allen: 'Nobody at Radio 1 knows what the fuck they're doing'
Duran Duran suing fan club for £23,500
Details announced for The Warehouse Project 2014 line-up
Courtney Love says production on Kurt Cobain biopic will begin in 'next 12 months'
Bloc Party's Kele Okereke to release new solo album, 'Trick'
Midweek chart update: La Roux narrowly behind Ed Sheeran in race for Number One
Lana Del Rey says 'Fucked My Way To The Top' song is commentary on public perception of...
Metallica's Lars Ulrich says Noel Gallagher inspired him to quit cocaine
Kasabian's Serge Pizzorno and comedian Noel Fielding tease 'Wu-Tang Clan' live shows
Ian Watkins loses appeal for reduced jail term; judges cite 'shocking depravity' of crimes
The Gaslight Anthem warn fans that new album 'Get Hurt' is 'completely...
Manic Street Preachers' Nicky Wire on Russell Brand's politics: 'Voting should be...
Former Lostprophets members thank fans for 'sticking with us' at first gig as No Devotion
Peaches Geldof died of heroin overdose, inquest hears
Slowdive announce two further reunion dates
James Murphy to score new Noah Baumbach film 'While We're Young'
Lostprophets' Ian Watkins to have jail term appeal considered
SBTRKT announces new album 'Wonder Where We Land' – hear first track now
Post-punkers The Pop Group announce first ever UK tour
The Raveonettes release surprise new album 'Pe'Ahi'
Alt-J score short film 'Wander With Me' - watch

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today