July 24, 2007 1:04

The Donnas reveal details of 'Bitchin' new album

They'll self-release it this autumn

The Donnas reveal details of 'Bitchin' new album
The Donnas have announced that they will self-release their seventh album, 'Bitchin', on September 18 in the US and October 1 in the UK.

The follow-up to 2004's 'Gold Medal' features 14 tracks co-produced by Jay Ruston (The Polyphonic Spree, Meat Loaf) and sees the band developing a fresh take on their sound free from label pressures, according to a band spokesperson.

“We know what we want, we know how to get it, and we are ready and willing to take it. It’s almost like we have come full circle,” said guitarist Allison Robertson in a statement.

“Maybe in some way we are still the same dorky pre-teens who started playing because we love rock n’ roll. The difference is that now we are completely comfortable and confident with who we are.”

'Bitchin' will be released via The Donnas' new label, Purple Feather Records.

They're expected to announce autumn tour dates shortly.

--By our Los Angeles staff.
[url="/about"] Find out more about NME.[/url]

Read More On This Artist

More News
HMV chairman says it is 'a matter of time' before they are Britain's biggest...
DFA Records deny reports New Order are working with James Murphy
Flashback Festival among three Essex events cancelled due to 'unforeseen circumstances'
Kasabian cover Iggy Azalea's 'Fancy' and announce plans to perform debut album in...
Prince reveals two new songs ahead of dual album release – listen
Neil Young rumoured to be releasing orchestral album 'Storytone'
Radiohead update official app with new music
Superfood announce details of debut album 'Don't Say That' – hear new song
Disclosure working with Mary J Blige on her new album 'The London Sessions'
Marina and the Diamonds preview snippet of new track 'Froot' – listen
Ryan Adams streams new album online
Rapper Riff Raff attacks 'chubby' Sam Smith after being cut from VMAs Instagram photo
Ash's Tim Wheeler announces debut solo album 'Lost Domain' – hear first song now
Yoko Ono announces this year's recipients of the Lennon Ono Grant For Peace
Royal Blood say debut album success shows there is 'hope for guitars and riffs' – watch
Bloc Party's Kele Okereke dismisses idea of 'Silent Alarm' anniversary tour
Mercury Music Prize 2014 nominees to be revealed next week
Today's new album releases: The Kooks, Pulled Apart By Horses and more
Arcade Fire cover Wolf Parade during final, homecoming Reflektor tour show – watch
Superfood and Honeyblood to play NME New Breed Tour
Foals and The Antlers to feature in Transgressive Records' free September downloads
Representative for Ariana Grande denies leaked nude photos are real

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today