Four songs have been written, so the five-year gap between the first two albums will hopefully prove a one-off...

ELASTICA have written four new songs for a new album, the follow-up to 'The Menace', can reveal.

The band notoriously had a five-year gap between albums following the release of debut LP 'Elastica' in March 1995.

A week before the band headed off on their first American tour in four years, the group were in the studio laying down tracks which they hope to continue working on when they return from the Stateside jaunt.

Calling from Detroit two weeks into the tour, drummer Justin Welch said:

"We recorded four before we went away. One's called 'Bitch Don't Work', which we're playing live in the set. One's called 'No Good', and the other couple... I'm not quite sure what they're called. We've got to look at them when we get back and decide if we need to re-record them."

You can find out more about Elastica's new material, and more about the reaction to them in the US in this week's NME (October 7), in UK shops today.

Read More On This Artist

More News
Midweek Chart Update: Ben Howard and Slipknot battle for Number One album
Dutch Uncles announce new album 'O Shudder' – hear first song now
Scorpion found in north London home of former Everything But The Girl members
Weezer offer fans the opportunity to pick their next single
New species of tarantula named after John Lennon
1.5m tune in to watch Noel Gallagher on 'Celebrity Gogglebox'
Slaves confuse Bono on debut 'Jools Holland' performance
Beatles star George Harrison's childhood home sells for £156,000 at an auction
Pink Floyd's 'The Endless River' on course to become Amazon's most...
Jamie T says he doesn't worry about his music as 'most of the shit around today is...
Kate Tempest made new favourite to win this year's Mercury Prize
New York judge hears Kesha denied having sexual history with Dr Luke in 2011 deposition
S Club 7 announce they are reforming for BBC's Children in Need
Mike Read withdraws 'UKIP Calypso' song following racism complaints
Johnny Marr says Noel Gallagher's new album is 'very melodic' and 'pretty...
U2 perform two 'Songs Of Innocence' tracks on 'Later... with Jools Holland'...
Chance The Rapper to release new free album 'Surf'
Kate Bush describes recent London shows as 'truly special' in message to fans
Kasabian: 'There's nothing more depressing than seeing a band come offstage and have...
Nick Mulvey covers Björk's 'Bachelorette' for NME - watch
Taylor Swift tops the iTunes Canada chart with eight seconds of static
Cult Brooklyn venue Glasslands set for closure

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Inside NME.COM