Empire Of The Sun reveal second hieroglyphic puzzle

Band offer fans latest insight into new album 'Ice On The Dune'

Empire Of The Sun reveal second hieroglyphic puzzle

Photo: Press

The latest hieroglyphic puzzle offering fans an insight into the new album from Empire Of The Sun is being revealed by NME today (March 22). Scroll down to see the new image now.

Reportedly discovered on the walls of the 'Royal Antechamber', a new message written in the ancient script is believed to offer fans insight directly from The Emperor, with sources reporting that the underlined phrase is the key to understanding what exactly what he has to say. Empire Of the Sun previously teased a different hieroglyphic earlier this week.

The image, which you can see below and click to enlarge, was first seen in the trailer for the band's new album 'Ice On The Dune' when it was revealed earlier this month. Said to be "thousands of years old" (but we're sceptical!), the hieroglyphic is written in a secret language used only in the band's mythical Empire. A decoder key which will help fans understand what the message means can be found on Empire of the Sun's official site.

Luke Steele and Nick Littlemore will return in the summer with their second album, the follow up to 2008's 'Walking On A Dream'. A press release for the album claims, "Emperor Steele and Lord Littlemore face an unprecedented challenge in their bid to restore peace to the world, 1,000 years into the future."

Empire Of The Sun are confirmed to headline UK festival Wilderness in August alongside Tribes, King Krule and Noah And The Whale.

Click on the image below to view full size

Read More On This Artist

More News
Members of Arcade Fire, The Strokes and Bon Iver cover Phil Collins and White Stripes – watch
Gwar's Jizmak Da Gusha: 'I was going to kill Dave Grohl until he said something nice...
Statue of Eleanor Rigby made from more than £1m in used banknotes on display in Liverpool
The Script score third Official Albums Chart Number One with 'No Sound Without Silence'
Jake Bugg: 'Manufactured pop bands don't have any soul'
Lauryn Hill's London comeback show subject to harsh Twitter criticism
Tatu's Lena Katina responds to bandmate's homophobia: 'People should be free to...
Producer Tony Visconti says he was misquoted over 'new David Bowie album' comment
La Roux: 'I've never made any money from record sales'
Kendrick Lamar downplays guest appearances on new album
Jamie T: 'Damon Albarn told me to write from the heart'
Stevie Nicks unveils title track from '24 Karat Gold: Songs From The Vault' - listen
Kanye West shares photos from his community service fashion class
Will Ferrell and Red Hot Chili Peppers' Chad Smith cover The Rolling Stones - watch
Foo Fighters announce January 2015 live dates
Johnny Flynn stars in new trailer for Channel 4 sitcom 'Scrotal Recall' - watch
Bishop Nehru and Doom preview NehruvianDOOM album with new track 'Caskets' – listen
Matt Bellamy hints at World War 3 theme and guitar solos for new Muse album
SBTRKT previews new album 'Wonder Where We Land' at iTunes Festival in London
Iceage reveal new song 'How Many' - listen
Trent Reznor previews 'Gone Girl' soundtrack ahead of cinema release
Members of Arcade Fire, The Strokes and Bon Iver form Pop All Star Band supergroup

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today