September 24, 2013 8:40

Godspeed You! Black Emporer criticise 'insane' Polaris Prize after being named 2013 winners

'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend!' album beats off competition from Metz, Metric, Purity Ring and Colin Stetson

Godspeed You! Black Emporer criticise 'insane' Polaris Prize after being named 2013 winners

Photo: PA

Godspeed You! Black Emperor have won the 2013 Polaris Prize in Canada for their album 'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend!'.

The album is the post-rock band's first release in 10 years and beat off strong competition from the likes of Metric - pictured above - and Metz to win the award, the Canadian equivalent of the Mercury Music Prize. Pitchfork reports that Ian Ilavsky from Constellation Records accepted the award on the band's behalf and said the band will use their $30,000 prize money to fund music education and musical instruments in Quebec prisons.

Issuing a statement via their record label CST Records website, Godspeed You! Black Emporer have distanced themselves from the ceremony, saying they feel "orphaned" in Canada and complaining that an expensive prize giving is unnecessary in times of financial austerity. "'This scene is pretty cool but what it really fucking needs is an awards show' is not a thought that’s ever crossed our minds," write the band.

The statement continues: "Organizing a gala just so musicians can compete against each other for a novelty-sized cheque doesn’t serve the cause of righteous music at all. Asking the Toyota motor company to help cover the tab for that gala, during a summer where the melting northern ice caps are live-streaming on the internet, is fucking insane, and comes across as tone-deaf to the current horrifying malaise."

Tegan and Sara and Purity Ring were also on the shortlist. Previous winners of the award include Arcade Fire, Feist, Fucked Up and Caribou.

Speaking about the shortlist, when it was announced earlier this year, the prize's founder and executive director Steve Jordan said: "This moody and exciting list is proof that the 'Canadian sound' has no stylistic boundaries. In equal measure we welcome the seven rookies and three repeat nominees to this year's shortlist."

Read More On This Artist

More News
Arcade Fire and The Strokes members line-up for third annual charity basketball match
Radiohead's Thom Yorke plays suprise DJ set in Los Angeles - watch
Nicki Minaj reveals release date for 'The Pink Print'
Foo Fighters share clip of new music from 'Sonic Highways' - listen
Karen O: 'The girl group sound shaped my melodic sensibility'
ZZ Top cancel tour due to bass player's tourbus accident
Zola Jesus takes to the forest in 'Dangerous Days' video - watch
Skrillex, Diplo and Kiesza share live version of 'Take U There' - listen
Suede to release 20th anniversary 'Dog Man Star' boxset
Young Jeezy pleads not guilty to possessing illegal assault weapon
The Black Keys' Patrick Carney records theme tune to animated horse comedy starring Aaron Paul
The Weeknd reveals slow-mo video for 'King Of The Fall' – watch
Circa Waves announce new single 'So Long' – listen
Woman killed in bus crash at Burning Man festival
Aphex Twin announces international listening parties for new album 'Syro'
Miley Cyrus' homeless VMA guest hands himself in to police
Flying Lotus contemplating Kasabian's offer for collaboration: 'I've never heard...
Bristol Fleece management deny claims they're encouraging a boycott of Fat White Family
James Murphy to turn data from US Open tennis tournament into 400 hours of new music
David Lynch reveals he turned down directing video for Kanye West due to lack of ideas
Robert Plant criticises Spotify sound quality
Beyoncé's dad says Jay Z and Solange fight was staged to boost sales

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today