Damon Albarn and Jamie Hewlett to release new album

Gorillaz duo adapt 'Monkey' opera for new record

Photo: Next Previous

Photo Gallery: Gorillaz

Gorillaz duo Jamie Hewlett and Damon Albarn are set to release a new album together based on their recent opera.

The pair will release 'Journey To The West' under the name Monkey later this summer.

The album is based on opera 'Monkey: Journey To The West' which premiered at Manchester International Festival last year and which opens at the Royal Opera House in London tomorrow (July 23).

The full tracklisting is:

'Monkey's World'
'Monkey Travels'
'Into The Eastern Sea'
'The Living Sea'
'The Dragon King'
'Iron Rod'
'Out Of The Eastern Sea'
'Heavenly Peach Banquet'
'Battle In Heaven'
'O Mi To Fu'
'Tripitaka's Curse'
'Confessions Of A Pig'
'Sandy The River Demon'
'March Of The Volunteers'
'The White Skeleton Demon'
'Monk's Song'
'I Love Buddha'
'March Of The Iron Army'
'Pigsy In Space'
'Monkey Bee'
'Disappearing Volcano'

For more on the album, including an artwork exclusive from Hewlett get this week's issue of NME, on UK newsstands nationwide from tomorrow (July 23).

Read More On This Artist

Gorillaz Merchandise
More News
Nick Cave and Warren Ellis anounce release of soundtrack to French film 'Loin Des Hommes'
The Jesus and Mary Chain, Public Enemy and more to play London gigs as part of Mogwai-curated event
Madame Tussauds unveils new Olly Murs waxwork
One Direction 'organising' new album
Madonna defends new Tidal streaming service as Haxan Cloak says Jay Z ripped him off
Madonna posts new 'Ghosttown' remix – listen
Jay Z on his new streaming platform Tidal: 'It's not me against Spotify'
The Vaccines reveal new single 'Dream Lover' – listen
First Zayn Malik solo track revealed following One Direction departure – listen
Lil' Chris's family speak about son's battle with depression following recent death
Jay Z, Kanye West, Madonna, Beyonce, Arcade Fire, Jack White launch Tidal streaming service in NYC
Motley Crue's Nikki Sixx to work with boy band 5 Seconds of Summer
Jarvis Cocker creates fictional vinyl sleeves for art exhibition in Paris
Johnny Marr reveals he's writing a film
De La Soul launch Kickstarter for new album set to feature Damon Albarn, David Byrne, 2 Chainz
Of Monsters and Men announce new album – hear new song 'Crystals' now
Diplo reveals he is collaborating with Led Zeppelin frontman Robert Plant
Rihanna denies plans to release new album on Jay Z's new streaming service tonight (March 30)
Toro Y Moi streams new album 'What For?' - listen
Waxahatchee stream new album 'Ivy Tripp' – listen
Ed Sheeran dance track 'Rewind, Repeat It' posted online - listen
Robbie Williams denies reports he is joining 'The X Factor'

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Inside NME.COM