April 7, 1999 16:40


Brilliant near-bootleg single teams [B]Chuck[/B] and [B]Herb[/B]...

Public Enemy team up with Herb Alpert & The Tijuana Brass...literally.

Pickled Egg records have given a UK release to The Evolution Control Committee's Whipped Cream Mixes, a forced marriage between Public Enemy's 'Rebel Without A Pause' and 'By The Time I Get To Arizona' and the aforementioned founder of A&M Records wherein the fiery raps of Chuck D are counterpoised with the MOR lilt of Alpert.

The barely legal single was played on John Peel and made it into the Festive 50 despite being unavailable in the UK.

Reminiscent of Negativeland's cheeky experiments with sampling and copyright violation, the ECC are apparently based in Ohio.

You can buy the single from Pickled Egg's website[/url] and link to the ECC's website where you can download more music.
More News
Arctic Monkeys serenade Lisbon's Nos Alive festival with 'love song'
Bat For Lashes unveils new song 'Skin Song' - listen
Manic Street Preachers' Nicky Wire: ''Futurology' is one of our most...
The Vines share video for new single 'Metal Zone' - watch
Azealia Banks reportedly 'free' from Interscope recording contract
Zach Braff discusses Coldplay and Bon Iver-featuring soundtrack to new movie Wish I Was Here
Limp Bizkit at Glastonbury? 'I doubt we'll ever be invited'
Mick Jagger laughs off claims he is to blame from Brazil's 7-1 World Cup defeat
Robin Thicke album 'sells less than 54 copies' in Australia, according to reports
Poll result: NME readers do not want to see pyrotechnic flares banned from music festivals
T In The Park weather update: Warm and sunny to begin with before longer spells of rain
Sinead O'Connor replaces Bobby Womack as Womad headliner
Kasabian's Serge Pizzorno teams up with Noel Fielding for second series of 'Luxury...
Nick Cave to perform live at Barbican screening of '20,000 Days On Earth' documentary
Sonisphere organisers 'shocked' by festival attack which left 21-year-old male...
Green Day bassist Mike Dirnt to produce indie film
N-Dubz confirm plans for 2015 reunion and vow to 'come back like Black Eyed Peas'
Courtney Love lists sex as her 'favourite obsession'
Ellie Goulding breaks up crowd fight at Eden Project gig
Sum 41's Deryck Whibley says Iggy Pop is supporting his recovery from alcohol addiction
Burzum's Varg Vikernes found guilty of inciting racial hatred
Bruce Springsteen debuts short film for 'Hunter Of Invisible Game' – watch

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today