Imogen Heap announces release of new album 'Sparks' in March 2014

Singer wants fans to send in their footprints for the cover of the album's deluxe edition

Imogen Heap announces release of new album 'Sparks' in March 2014
Imogen Heap has announced the release of her fourth studio album.

Titled 'Sparks', the album will be released on March 3, 2014 on RCA Records. The standard edition contains 14 brand new tracks while the deluxe box set edition adds a host of bonus material including music videos, a 120-page coffee table book and a special deck of playing cards which unlock exclusive web content.

The singer is asking fans who pre-order the deluxe box set edition to send in pictures of their footprints, which will then be used to help create its cover. The deluxe box set will be released one week earlier than the standard edition on February 24, 2014.

Heap explained in a press statement: "The album began with someone sending in the sound of a striking match for what became [new song] 'Lifeline' in March 2011. I then dived into the most immense, intense creative two and a half years of my life that took me all over the planet, collaborating on so many projects with so many people and often totally spontaneously. The album is then in some ways for me grounded with fans' footprints bringing the finishing touch for the album art, as so many of them came along for the ride."

Meanwhile, Heap is claiming that one song from the album, 'The Listening Chair', will never be finished. The track apparently covers the first 35 years of the singer's life in five minutes and she intends to add to it every seven years with another minute of a cappella song.

Heap's last album, 'Ellipse', came out in 2009 and peaked at Number Five on the US Billboard 200 and Number 39 on the UK's Official Albums Chart.

The 'Sparks' tracklisting in full:

'You Know Where to Find Me'
'The Listening Chair'
'Cycle Song'
'Neglected Space'
'Minds Without Fear'
'Me The Machine'
'Climb To Sakteng'
'The Beast'
'Xizi She Knows'
'Propeller Seeds'

Imogen Heap Merchandise
More News
Azealia Banks becomes Medusa in 'Ice Princess' video – watch
The Maccabees share new single 'Marks To Prove It' - listen
Everything Everything, James Bay and Catfish And The Bottlemen added to Festival Number 6 line-up
The Vaccines to release new video tomorrow (April 1)
Paramore's Hayley Williams unveils first episode of beauty and music web series 'Kiss...
Wilco cancel show in Indiana due to US State's controversial Religious Freedom Restoration Act
Smashing Pumpkins and Marilyn Manson announce co-headline tour
Drenge say Record Store Day has 'turned into a swamp of bullshit'
Future Islands record new music at Abbey Road and play new songs live - watch
The Libertines tell fans to 'expect album announcement soon' in latest update from...
Mac DeMarco performs 'Let Her Go' live on 'Conan' - watch
Universal call Record Store Day 'the single best thing that has ever happened to the indie...
Justin Bieber working on new album with Kanye West and Rick Rubin
Naughty Boy on Louis Tomlinson beef: 'No one is against anyone here'
The Rolling Stones announce North American tour for 2015
The Maccabees announce UK tour dates for May
Grace Jones to support Paolo Nutini's Glasgow Summer Sessions gig
A$AP Rocky says his new album is inspired by The Doors
My Morning Jacket stream new track 'Spring (Among the Living)' - listen
Ed Sheeran confirmed as co-host of 2015 MuchMusic Video Awards
Nick Cave and Warren Ellis announce release of soundtrack to French film 'Loin Des Hommes'
Alvvays announce summer UK and Ireland tour dates

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Inside NME.COM