March 25, 2003 17:57


The ruling is regarding an unreleased album featuring Ja Rule...

DEF JAM MUSIC GROUP chairman LYOR COHEN and DEF JAM RECORDS have been found liable for fraud, copyright infringement and breach of contract by a jury in the NEW YORK FEDERAL COURT.

The decision was made last Friday (March 21) regarding the planned release by TVT Records of a hip-hop album produced by Irv Gotti, and the alleged misuse of other TVT material. The unreleased album was to feature Ja Rule and his group Cash Murda Click (CMC) amongst others.

TVT, based in New York, was the home of Ja Rule and Gotti before they signed separate recording contracts with Def Jam. The company filed the $30 million lawsuit on October 18, 2002, claiming that Def Jam backtracked on an agreement granting TVT permission to release the Gotti-produced CMC album. The album was to feature material by Ja Rule and Gotti made during their contracts to the independent record label.

TVT allege that Cohen and Def Jam interfered with the launch, instructing Ja Rule and Gotti that he would "prevent the album's release unless it is released on Def Jam's label, rather than TVT's". It was due to hit the shops last November 26.

As reported in Billboard, IDJMG are due to appeal the verdict as a spokesperson for Def Jam feels the jury "was not allowed to consider all the evidence".

The jury will meet April 28 to determine damages, according to TVT lawyer Peter Haviland.

Read More On This Artist

More News
Justin Bieber facing new charges following arrest for dangerous driving and assault
Cypress Hill talk new album's 'pretty tripped-out' sound
New Order sign to Mute Records for new album
Run The Jewels reveal 'RTJ2' album tracklist and artwork
Faith No More readying first new album in 18 years
Arctic Monkeys, Twin Atlantic among AIM Awards winners
Chvrches announce Mansionair as next release on their Goodbye Records label
Project to combat sexual harassment at gigs launches UK-wide campaign
Billy Corgan says Smashing Pumpkins may split after forthcoming 2015 albums
Sleater-Kinney to release career-spanning vinyl boxset 'Start Together' in October
Fat White Family unveil new track 'I Am Mark E Smith' – listen
Royal Blood say they're 'still scratching our heads' over Number One album
Foals to return to Glastonbury to play Pilton Party bash
The Coral confirm details of 'lost' album 'The Curse Of Love'
Interpol admit they haven't been in contact with former bassist Carlos D since his departure
Radiohead drummer Phil Selway says 'now feels right' time to start recording new album
‘Baywatch’ theme tune singer Jimi Jamison dies, aged 63
Apple and FBI to investigate reports iCloud hack was behind nude photo leaks
Elbow announce London and Manchester ‘theatre’ shows for 2015
Kanye West previews new song 'Awesome' in 'Keeping Up With The Kardashians'...
CeeLo Green deletes Twitter account following rape comments
Jessie Ware reveals new song 'Want Your Feeling' – listen

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today