NME News

JACKSON FIVE COURT BATTLE?

Apparently, the domain name www.jackson5.com bears a resemblance to the name of one of Motown's biggest acts. Dunno which...

MOTOWN RECORDS have launched a lawsuit against a company they claim are infringing copyright by using the domain name jackson5.com.

Filed on Tuesday (March 13) in US District Court Of The Central District Of California, the complaint alleges that the name breaks anti-cybersquatting acts. www.Billboard.com reports that there are a number of defendants in the action - the Creston Group, Midland Group, AfricaWatch.net, Dolapo Asiru, AIM Internet Services, and Alexander G Cardonell.

Motown, according to court documents, licensed the Jackson 5 trademark in 1973. They are seeking a number of preliminary and permanent injunctions, legal fees and undetermined damages.

Add your comment

NME Alerts

Get NME news delivered direct to your desktop. Find out more

This Week's Issue
  • NME Magazine - The ultimate guide to the week in music
  • The ultimate guide to the week in music
  • NME Magazine - Subscribe now and save up to £37!
Please sign in

Forgot your password?

Register with MyNME

Every Tuesday and Friday

  • Up-to-the-minute news stories
  • The best new music and free downloads
  • Video interviews, photo galleries, competitions and more
  • Album and track reviews for the week ahead
  • Essential gigs in your area