June 28, 2013 12:43

Janelle Monáe announces release date for new album 'The Electric Lady'

Monae's second album will be released on September 10 and features a collaboration with Prince

Janelle Monáe announces release date for new album 'The Electric Lady'

Photo: Press

Janelle Monae has announced that she will release her second album 'The Electric Lady' on September 10.

The singer made her announcement with a short Instagram video clip in which she is seen scribbling the name of the album and release date on a sheet of paper. Click here to watch it.

Monae has yet to unveil the full tracklisting but earlier this month (June) she revealed that the album will feature a collaboration with Prince. She's also teamed up with Miguel for a track called 'Primetime' which feature a sample of the Pixies' classic 'Where Is My Mind?'.

Other tracks set to appear include 'Dorothy Dandridge Eyes', 'Dance Apocalyptic' and 'Victory'. 'The Electric Lady' is Monae's follow-up to her acclaimed 2010 debut album 'The ArchAndroid'. In April of this year, Monae debuted the first single from 'The Electric Lady' - a collaboration with Erykah Badu titled 'QUEEN'. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click to listen.

Read More On This Artist


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
New Issue Out Now
On NME.COM Today