August 18, 2006 8:30

Joanna Newsom unveils new album

Could it be the weirdest record of the year?

Joanna Newsom unveils new album
Acid-folk harpist Joanna Newsom has revealed details of the follow-up to her acclaimed debut ‘The Milk-Eyed Mender’.

‘Ys’, featuring just five tracks and running to nearly an hour, is released on November 13.

The album was arranged by Beach Boys collaborator Van Dyke Parks, recorded by Nirvana and Pixies producer Steve Albini and mixed by ex-Sonic Youth member Jim O’Rourke.

Opener ‘Emily’ runs to over 12 minutes, while penultimate track ‘Only Skin’ is reportedly nearly 17 minutes long.

The tracklisting for ‘Ys’, pronounced "eees", is as follows:

‘Monkey & Bear’
‘Sawdust & Diamonds’
‘Only Skin’

Read More On This Artist


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today