Karen O streams debut album 'Crush Songs'

The album is due for release on September 9

Karen O has unveiled her new solo album 'Crush Songs' via online stream.

The singer's debut record is due for release on September 9 but can be heard right now via Spin.

Last month, O spoke about the album, revealing the influence the classic girl group sound and doo wop has had on her own songwriting. "When it comes to my solo work nothing has greater influence than my dad's best of the 50s and 60s CD compilations. The doo-wop and girl group sound from those decades has shaped my melodic sensibility more than anything else."

She continued: "Tracks with hyper-romantic sentiment like Connie Francis's 'Who's Sorry Now' and Ray Peterson's 'Tell Laura I Love Her' just killed me. Strong melody and deceptively simple lyrics that emote on a grand scale is what I'm all about."

Released on Julian Casablancas' label Cult Records, 'Crush Sounds' was recorded between 2006 and 2007 and is described as a "collection of lo-fi, bedroom recordings". The Yeah Yeah Yeahs frontwoman will play two gigs at the Shepherds Bush venue in London on October 4 and 5 in support of the LP.

The 'Crush Songs' tracklisting is:

'Comes The Night'
'NYC Baby'
'Other Side'
'So Far'
'Day Go By'
'Indian Summer'
'Sunset Sun'
'Native Korean Rock'

Share This

Connect With Us
This Week's Magazine