December 10, 2013 14:48

Paving stones featuring Lostprophets lyrics 'could be removed' from Pontypridd

Ten engraved slabs featuring Ian Watkins' lyrics were laid down in 2012

Paving stones featuring Lostprophets lyrics 'could be removed' from Pontypridd

Photo: South Wales Police

Paving stones in Ian Watkins' hometown of Pontypridd engraved with Lostprophets lyrics could be removed following the frontman's conviction for sexually abusing children.

The flags feature lyrics to the band's song 'Streets Of Nowhere' and were laid in 2012, the same year Lostprophets released their final album 'Weapons'. Local Labour Welsh assembly member Mick Antoniw has admitted that the paving, which was layed down to act as a reminder of the area's cultural history, could now be removed.

The paving slabs can currently be found in the Taff Street area of Pontypridd and feature Watkins' lyrics, including the line "Every time I walk these streets I know they're mine." Ian Watkins pleaded guilty to 13 sexual offences, including two of attempting to rape a baby at Cardiff Crown Court in November.

The Guardian quotes Antoniw as saying: "The paving was originally put down in good faith when there was a lot of pride locally surrounding the Lostprophets. Since then there have been a number of concerns raised and quite a lot of shock in Pontypridd about the detail of what he did."

Antoniw continues: "This was something that was put in place and intended for people to take pride in. The feeling is that it should be ripped up now. It's not something that the council should make a song and dance about but I think that these pavings should be discretly removed."

Two female co-defendants, who cannot be named, also admitted to numerous child sex offences alongside Watkins. Read the full story here and here.

Read More On This Artist

More News
Justin Bieber facing new charges following arrest for dangerous driving and assault
Cypress Hill talk new album's 'pretty tripped-out' sound
New Order sign to Mute Records for new album
Run The Jewels reveal 'RTJ2' album tracklist and artwork
Faith No More readying first new album in 18 years
Arctic Monkeys, Twin Atlantic among AIM Awards winners
Chvrches announce Mansionair as next release on their Goodbye Records label
Project to combat sexual harassment at gigs launches UK-wide campaign
Billy Corgan says Smashing Pumpkins may split after forthcoming 2015 albums
Sleater-Kinney to release career-spanning vinyl boxset 'Start Together' in October
Fat White Family unveil new track 'I Am Mark E Smith' – listen
Royal Blood say they're 'still scratching our heads' over Number One album
Foals to return to Glastonbury to play Pilton Party bash
The Coral confirm details of 'lost' album 'The Curse Of Love'
Interpol admit they haven't been in contact with former bassist Carlos D since his departure
Radiohead drummer Phil Selway says 'now feels right' time to start recording new album
‘Baywatch’ theme tune singer Jimi Jamison dies, aged 63
Apple and FBI to investigate reports iCloud hack was behind nude photo leaks
Elbow announce London and Manchester ‘theatre’ shows for 2015
Kanye West previews new song 'Awesome' in 'Keeping Up With The Kardashians'...
CeeLo Green deletes Twitter account following rape comments
Jessie Ware reveals new song 'Want Your Feeling' – listen

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today