Manic Street Preachers complete new album

Nicky Wire says the band are 'excited, nervous, proud and fearful' about releasing it

Photo: Next Previous

Photo Gallery: Manic Street Preachers

Manic Street Preachers bassist Nicky Wire has posted a handwritten note on telling fans the band have completed recording their new album.

Wire said he thinks the LP - which is tentatively titled 'Journal For Plague Lovers' - will be released this May.

The record features lyrics written by Richey Edwards.

Wire's note said that the Welsh trio are now preparing to choose the tracklisting for the album, and get it mastered in New York.

"Just finished recording in Rockfield," Wire said in the note.

"Only running orders left to be finalised then cut the record in New York - looks like middle of May for release. We're excited, nervous, proud and fearful as usual but can't wait for everyone to hear it."

Wire then went on to thank fans for giving him a "monumental" 40th birthday card (on January 20). He also posted several photos of the band recording the album in the studio on the website.

Read More On This Artist

Manic Street Preachers Merchandise
More News
The Script score third Official Albums Chart Number 1 with 'No Sound Without Silence'
Jake Bugg: 'Manufactured pop bands don't have any soul'
Lauryn Hill's London comeback show subject to harsh Twitter criticism
Tatu's Lena Katina responds to bandmate's homophobia: 'People should be free to...
Producer Tony Visconti says he was misquoted over 'new David Bowie album' comment
La Roux: 'I've never made any money from record sales'
Kendrick Lamar downplays guest appearances on new album
Jamie T: 'Damon Albarn told me to write from the heart'
Stevie Nicks unveils title track from '24 Karat Gold: Songs From The Vault' - listen
Kanye West shares photos from his community service fashion class
Will Ferrell and Red Hot Chili Peppers' Chad Smith cover The Rolling Stones - watch
Foo Fighters announce January 2015 live dates
Johnny Flynn stars in new trailer for Channel 4 sitcom 'Scrotal Recall' - watch
Bishop Nehru and Doom preview NehruvianDOOM album with new track 'Caskets' – listen
Matt Bellamy hints at World War 3 theme and guitar solos for new Muse album
SBTRKT previews new album 'Wonder Where We Land' at iTunes Festival in London
Iceage reveal new song 'How Many' - listen
Trent Reznor previews 'Gone Girl' soundtrack ahead of cinema release
Members of Arcade Fire, The Strokes and Bon Iver form Pop All Star Band supergroup
Lil Wayne and Drake hit the road in 'Grindin' video - watch
SBTRKT streams new song 'The Light' featuring Denai Moore - listen
George Ezra covers Cyndi Lauper's 'Girls Just Wanna Have Fun' - watch

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today