Mark Lanegan's new album features contributions from former members of Dinosaur Jr, Soundgarden and Ministry...

Former SCREAMING TREES singer MARK LANEGAN will release his fifth solo LP through SUB POP on May 8.

A follow-up to 1999's critically acclaimed covers/tribute LP 'I'll Take Care Of You', 'Field Songs' is his first solo album since the band officially announced its split last summer, following a concert to celebrate the opening of the Experience Music Project rock'n'roll museum in Seattle.

On the new LP, Lanegan is accompanied by longtime collaborator Mike Johnson (once of Dinosaur Jr) and former Soundgarden bassist Ben Shepherd, who has one of his own compositions - an atmospheric instrumental called 'Blues For D' - featured on the album. Both Johnson and Shepherd have performed with Lanegan at his occasional live shows. Onetime Ministry drummer Bill Rieflin completes the line-up.

'Field Songs' also includes a track penned by Lanegan with former Gun Club lead singer Jeffrey Lee Pierce. 'Kimiko's Dream House' is one of the last songs written by the singer before his death in 1996. Lanegan paid tribute to his friend by covering The Gun Club's 'Carry Home' (from their 'Miami' LP) on 'I'll Take Care Of You'.

The full tracklisting of 'Field Songs' is:

'One Way Street'
'No Easy Action'
'Pill Hill Serenade'
'Don't Forget Me'
'Kimiko's Dream House'
'Resurrection Song'
'Field Song'
'Blues For D'
'She Done Too Much'

Lanegan is expected to shortly announce details of a short US tour to coincide with the release of 'Field Songs' and is tipped to be performing on the European festival circuit this summer.

He has also been linked with in Queens Of The Stone Age frontman Josh Homme's latest Desert Sessions project. Lanegan and Homme are longtime friends and collaborators - Homme once toured as a second guitarist with Screaming Trees and Lanegan contributed lead and backing vocals to several tracks on the latest Queens LP, 'Rated R'.

Read More On This Artist

More News
'The X-Files' actor David Duchovny announces debut solo album
James Blake announces 1-800-DINOSAUR mini tour
Young Fathers stream new album 'White Men Are Black Men Too' - listen
Blur include records by Ellie Goulding, Radiohead, Bowie, Nick Drake in favourite albums list
Circa Waves cover Ellie Goulding's 'Love Me Like You Do' - watch
Run The Jewels share 'clean version' of 'Run The Jewels 2' album
Led Zeppelin share interactive video for alternate version of 'Trampled Under Foot'
Glasgow's Arches venue set to close following police raid
Ringo Starr says he originally wrote new album 'Postcards From Paradise' on drums alone...
Azealia Banks becomes Medusa in 'Ice Princess' video – watch
The Maccabees share new single 'Marks To Prove It' - listen
Everything Everything, James Bay and Catfish And The Bottlemen added to Festival Number 6 line-up
The Vaccines to release new video tomorrow (April 1)
Paramore's Hayley Williams unveils first episode of beauty and music web series 'Kiss...
Wilco cancel show in Indiana due to US State's controversial Religious Freedom Restoration Act
Smashing Pumpkins and Marilyn Manson announce co-headline tour
Drenge say Record Store Day has 'turned into a swamp of bullshit'
Future Islands record new music at Abbey Road and play new songs live - watch
The Libertines tell fans to 'expect album announcement soon' in latest update from...
Mac DeMarco performs 'Let Her Go' live on 'Conan' - watch
Universal call Record Store Day 'the single best thing that has ever happened to the indie...
Justin Bieber working on new album with Kanye West and Rick Rubin

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Inside NME.COM