September 9, 2010 16:01

Metallica announce eight-track live EP

'Six Feet Down Under' coming out later this September

Photo: Next Previous

Photo Gallery: Metallica

Metallica have announced plans to release a new live EP featuring tracks recorded during gigs in Australia.

The band are releasing 'Six Feet Down Under' from their official website,, from September 20 to mark the end of their 'World Magnetic' tour.

The eight-track EP, which has been put together by the band with the help of fan recordings, features cuts from performances stretching from 1989 up to 2004.

Writing on their website the band explained: "You guys, the fans, came to our rescue with some pretty decent bootleg options and we trimmed those down to two songs from each tour in 1989, 1993, 1998 and 2004. In digging a little deeper, it occurred to us that we had tracks that had never before been released as 'live b-sides' and that added to the adventure of pulling it all together."

The tracklisting for 'Six Feet Down Under' is:

'Eye Of The Beholder' - Recorded live on May 4, 1989 at Festival Hall in Melbourne
'...And Justice For All' - Recorded live on May 4, 1989 at Festival Hall in Melbourne
'Through The Never' - Recorded live on April 8, 1993 at the Entertainment Centre in Perth
'The Unforgiven' - Recorded live on April 4, 1993 at the National Tennis Centre in Melbourne
'Low Man's Lyric (Acoustic)' - Recorded live on April 11, 1998 at the Entertainment Centre in Perth
'Devil's Dance' - Recorded live on April 12, 1998 at the Entertainment Centre in Perth
'Frantic' - Recorded live on January 21, 2004 at the Entertainment Centre in Sydney
'Fight Fire With Fire' - Recorded live on January 19, 2004 at the Entertainment Centre in Brisbane

See for more information.

Read More On This Artist

Metallica Merchandise
More News
Adele and One Direction ensure one in eight albums sold in 2013 was made by a British artist
Kings Of Leon pay thanks for 'shit free show' at scene of 2010 pigeon poo concert
Foo Fighters' London Olympic Park gig sells out
34 dead after stampede at rap gig in Guinea
The Killers tops poll of weirdest lyrics with 'Are we human? Or are we dancer?'
Kendrick Lamar-inspired film 'm.A.A.d' to premiere at Sundance event
Jackson family 'disappointed and saddened' following reports Neverland Ranch is to be sold
Hop Farm organiser Vince Power banned from staging live music events
First Aid Kit compare Jack White to Willy Wonka as they cover his song – listen
Radiohead's Philip Selway unveils sci-fi video for first track from new solo album
Jenny Lewis launches her own wine
The Gaslight Anthem perform for gym team in 'Rollin' And Tumblin'' video - watch
Arcade Fire cover Creedence Clearwater Revival live - watch
The Cribs reveal Ric Ocasek of The Cars will produce their new album
Damon Albarn and The Courteeners - tickets on sale 9am Friday (August 1)
The Libertines say they 'rehearsed for one hour' before Hyde Park gig in London
Lorde to curate 'The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1' soundtrack
Brian Eno compares Israel to 'the Klan' in strongly-worded letter about...
Noel Gallagher's daughter asks owners of Oasis-inspired dog kennel to stop breeding pedigrees
Lily Allen says Miley Cyrus' live show is 'up there with Oasis or the Stone Roses'
Alice Cooper and Kiss pay tribute to late Lou Reed guitarist Dick Wagner
Ariel Pink recalls time he was maced in the face by 'a feminist'

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today