Jack White produces new Michael Kiwanuka single

The Third Man Records release includes Townes Van Zandt cover

Jack White produces new Michael Kiwanuka single

Photo: PA

Jack White has produced a brand new single from London soul singer Michael Kiwanuka.

The double A-side single features 'You've Got Nothing To Lose' backed with a cover of Townes Van Zandt's 'Waitin' Round To Die'. It is the latest release in Third Man Records' Blue Series, which has previously seen releases from Laura Marling, Beck and Tom Jones. The single, which was recorded last summer, is out now as a download and seven-inch.

Speaking about his work with the former White Stripes man, Kiwanuka commented: "I'm a big fan of Jack White. I used to hear his guitar riffs in secondary school growing up as a teenager. He inspired loads of us to start bands and pick up a guitar which I did. He's an artist that still inspires me today, so it was such a pleasure getting to work with him, and put out this single on Third Man Records."

In 2012 Kiwanuka – the winner of the BBC's Sound Of 2012 – collaborated with another Nashville based artist, Dan Auerbach of The Black Keys. The track, 'Lasan', was the B-side to Kiwanuka's single 'I'm Getting Ready', which featured on the singer's Mercury Music Prize nominated debut album, 'Home Again'. The song was recorded in London. Of the collaboration Auerbach said: "We went and did it really quick at Ray Davies' studio. It was nice. Obviously his voice is amazing the songs are cool. The production on that stuff is great too – I like what the guy is doing."

Read More On This Artist

More News
Will Ferrell and Red Hot Chili Peppers' Chad Smith cover The Rolling Stones - watch
Foo Fighters announce January 2015 live dates
Johnny Flynn stars in new trailer for Channel 4 sitcom 'Scrotal Recall' - watch
Bishop Nehru and Doom preview NehruvianDOOM album with new track 'Caskets' – listen
Matt Bellamy hints at World War 3 theme and guitar solos for new Muse album
SBTRKT previews new album 'Wonder Where We Land' at iTunes Festival in London
Iceage reveal new song 'How Many' - listen
Trent Reznor previews 'Gone Girl' soundtrack ahead of cinema release
Members of Arcade Fire, The Strokes and Bon Iver form Pop All Star Band supergroup
Lil Wayne and Drake hit the road in 'Grindin' video - watch
SBTRKT streams new song 'The Light' featuring Denai Moore - listen
George Ezra covers Cyndi Lauper's 'Girls Just Wanna Have Fun' - watch
Foo Fighters pay tribute to late Gwar frontman Oderus Urungus at crowdfunded gig
James Blake unveils new song on BBC Radio 1 show
David Bowie to release new album 'soon', says producer Tony Visconti
Six Iranians sentenced to prison and lashings for dancing to Pharrell's 'Happy' in...
All We Are announce January 2015 release date for debut album – hear first song now
Yorkshire artists cover Gang Of Four's 'Entertainment!' in special Cassette Store...
Guildford venue The Boileroom saved from closure
Richard Hawley to reissue first three albums on vinyl
Johnny Marr reveals new single 'The Trap'
Flying Lotus reveals new song 'Coronus, The Terminator' – listen

More News


Please login to add your comment.

Featured Videos
Latest Tickets - Booking Now
Know Your NME

NME Store & Framed Prints
Most Read News
Popular This Week
Inside NME.COM
On NME.COM Today