Adele announces new album and single details

Rick Rubin and Paul Epworth have produced singer's new material

Adele has announced the release date and title of her new album.

Called ’21’, the album is released on January 24. In a blog on, the singer described the album as a step on from her 2007 debut ’19’.

“I discovered lots of artists I’d never heard of, particularly Wanda Jackson, Allison Krauss, Yvonne Fair, Andrew Bird, Neko Case, Lady Antebellum and Steel Drivers who I fell in love with,” she explained.

“Then I delved in to more from artists I’ve loved forever – Mary J. Blige, Kanye West, Elbow, Mos Def, Alanis Morissette, Tom Waits and Sinead O’Connor. There’s something in every single one of these artists that has really really inspired ’21’.”

Comeback single ‘Rolling In The Deep’, which was written and produced with Paul Epworth, will be released on January 16.

Part of the album was also produced by Rick Rubin.