Beastie Boys movie to premiere in London

They got a bit of help from their fans

The premiere of the Beastie Boys’ new documentary ‘Awesome: I Fuckin’ Shot That’ is to feature in a series of music movies to be shown at London’s National Film Theatre.

‘Access All Areas’ runs through June and July, and among other highlights are the acclaimed ‘Standing In the Shadows Of Motown’, Marc Bolan’s ‘Born To Boogie’ and Neil Young’s ‘Year Of The Horse’.

A host of movies containing more contemporary acts will be announced shortly.

The Beastie Boys movie premiere will be screened on July 7, with full details to be confirmed in the near future.

Directed by the band’s Adam Yauch (MCA), the band handed out 50 cameras to fans at their Madison Square Garden concert in 2004, with the instructions ‘do what you want – just keep shooting’. The results were edited together.

Organisers also promise more events, previews and special guests.

The list of movies so far is:

‘Festival’

(Mon 26 June 6.15 NFT3; Thu 29 June 6.30 NFT1)

‘Monterey Pop’

(Sun 4 June 6.30 NFT1; Wed 7 June 8.45 NFT1)

‘Gimme Shelter’

(Sun 4 June 8.45 NFT1; Thu 8 June 6.30 NFT1)

‘Elvis: That’s the Way It Is’

(Mon 5 June 8.40 NFT1; Tue 6 June 8.30 NFT2)

‘Born to Boogie’

Thu 8 June 8.40 NFT1; Tue 13 June 6.30 NFT1

‘The Kids are Alright’

(Sat 3 June 3.45 NFT2; Fri 9 June 6.30 NFT1; Sat 24 June 8.45 NFT2)

‘Wattstax’

(Fri 9 June 8.45 NFT1; Sat 17 June 6.20 NFT2)

‘Woodstock (The Director’s Cut)’

(Sat 10 June 6.30 NFT1; Mon 19 June 6.30 NFT3)

‘The Song Remains the Same’

(Sun 11 June 6.00 NFT1; Tue 13 June 8.20 NFT1)

‘Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars’

(Sun 11 June 8.45 NFT1; Mon 12 June 6.30 NFT1)

‘ABBA: The Movie’

(Sun 11 June 4.00 NFT1; Mon 12 June 8.45 NFT1)

‘Urgh! A Music War’

(Wed 14 June 8.30 NFT2; Sun 18 June 6.00 NFT3)

‘Sign o’ the Times’

(Wed 21 June 6.20 NFT3; Fri 23 June 6.30 NFT1)

‘Scratch’

(Fri 23 June 8.45 NFT1; Fri 30 June 6.15 NFT2)

‘Festival Express’

(Sat 17 June 8.40 NFT2; Sat 24 June 4.00 NFT2;

Mon 26 June 8.45 NFT2)

‘Year of the Horse’

(Thu 15 June 8.30 NFT2; Sun 25 June 6.20 NFT2; Fri 30 June 8.45 NFT1

‘Lilith on Top’

(Sun 25 June 8.40 NFT3; Tue 27 June 6.15 NFT3)

‘Stop Making Sense’

(Sat 3 June 8.45 NFT1; Wed 7 June 6.30 NFT1)

‘Standing in the Shadows of Motown’

(Tue 27 June 8.45 NFT3; Wed 28 June 6.15 NFT3)

Tickets can be purchased from the NFT Box Office on 020 7928 3232. or on the website here.