Bjork Reykjavik show to be webcast tomorrow (June 28)

Sigur Ros slot will also be shown online

Performances by Bjork and Sigur Ros are set to be webcast live tomorrow (June 28) by National Geographic.

The acts will perform at the open-air Nattira concert live from Iceland, a free show which will take place in a large park near the centre of Reykjavik, and seeks to raise awareness of the impact of the growing aluminium smelting activity on Iceland’s natural landscape.

Bjork, who just today pulled out of the Wild In the Country Festival, said: “Too often battles being fought for nature turn into something negative and into mudslinging. We will not go that way, we are not saying that this and that is forbidden, we are rather asking ‘what about all these other possibilities?’

“The 21st century is not going to be another oil century but rather a century where we need to recycle, think green and design both power plants and our surroundings in harmony with nature.”

Meanwhile, Sigur Ros, who are currently promoting their new album ‘Meo suo i eyrum vio spilum endalaust’, commented on the issue of aluminium smelting in Iceland saying:

“We are not a political band and don’t think musicians should set themselves as spokespeople on anything at all, but sometimes you see things going on in your own backyard and find that just as a human being you cannot stand by and do nothing.”

The show will begin at 3pm ET/8pm BST/7pm GMT/Reykjavik/ on

worldmusic.nationalgeographic.com

–By our New York staff.

Find out more about NME.