Bruno Mars responds to ‘extremely insulting’ X Factor miming allegations: ‘I’ve never lip-synced’

Singer graces the cover of this week's NME magazine

Bruno Mars has defended himself against accusations of lip-syncing, speaking to NME in a new interview.

The singer returns with his new album ’24K Magic’ on Friday (November 18). He graces the cover of this week’s NME magazine, also out nationwide and digitally tomorrow.

Back in October, Mars was accused of miming by viewers during his X Factor live performance. Denying these claims, the star told NME: “I was reading something about [me] miming. Which is… well, you can say anything you want about me or my music, or make any kind of joke you want, but that to me is like, well, I’m going to get extremely insulted.”

Mars went on: “You have no idea how hard we rehearse. Just seeing that, it blew me away. Like, ‘What are they seeing? What do you mean!?’ Never! I’ve never lip-synced. I could have a 150-degree fever and I’ll still be up there, singing live. That’s our profession. That’s what we do.”

Read more: Six Bands Making A Mockery Of Miming

Bruno MarsKai Z Feng

After spending recent years co-writing with Adele on ‘All I Ask’ and Mark Ronson on the chart-topping ‘Uptown Funk‘, Mars’ long-awaited third album is his first since 2012’s ‘Unorthodox Jukebox’.

To celebrate, he’ll be hitting the road for a huge run of worldwide dates – calling Glasgow, Liverpool, Birmingham, Nottingham, Dublin, Manchester, Leeds and Sheffield, along with two nights at the O2 in London next year.

His full upcoming UK tour dates are below, with tickets on sale from 9am on Monday (November 21).

Wed April 12 2017 – GLASGOW SSE Hydro
Sat April 15 2017 – LIVERPOOL Echo Arena
Tue April 18 2017 – LONDON O2 Arena
Wed April 19 2017 – LONDON O2 Arena
Mon April 24 2017 – BIRMINGHAM Barclaycard Arena
Thu April 27 2017 – NOTTINGHAM Motorpoint Arena
Sat April 29 2017 – DUBLIN 3Arena
Tue May 02 2017 – MANCHESTER Arena
Fri May 05 2017 – LEEDS first direct Arena
Sat May 06 2017 – SHEFFIELD Arena