Buy Tickets

'A real grassroots Northern band'

The Courteeners‘ frontman Liam Fray has paid tribute to Blossoms – honouring them as a ‘real, grassroots Northern band’.

Blossoms are set to support The Courteeners at their upcoming headline show at Old Trafford Emirates LCCC, alongside Cabbage and The Charlatans.

“They’re a real real grassroots northern band,” Fray told NME. “No fucking leg-ups from anybody really or anything like that. They’ve grafted their balls off and toured extensively.”

Speaking about what makes them ‘so great’, Fray continued: “Great pop songs, good lads. What‘s not to love about it? It’s a proper old school kind of story – four lads meet at college and start a band. That’s what we want in this country, it should be celebrated. None of their dads are loaded and gave them a million quid to set up a studio; they’re normal lads who wrote songs in their bedrooms like we did. Fucking great.”

Fray added: “It gives me faith a little bit as well, that it can be done still, it’s available. Songs are a big thing; you’ve got to have the songs. It starts with a jacket but you need the songs.”

As well as defending The Enemy’s Tom Clarke against ‘mean’ critics, Fray also told NME of the band’s ‘special plans’ to honour the couple who bought 67 tickets to their upcoming Manchester Emirates Old Trafford LCC show for a wedding reception party.

The Courteeners’ full upcoming UK tour dates are below. Tickets to the November tour are on sale now, while tickets to the Manchester Old Trafford show are on sale from 9am on Friday 21 October.

Thu November 10 2016 – STOKE Victoria Hall
Fri November 11 2016 – SOUTHAMPTON O2 Guildhall
Sat November 12 2016 – LONDON O2 Academy Brixton
Mon November 14 2016 – BRISTOL O2 Academy Bristol
Tue November 15 2016 – NORWICH UEA
Thu November 17 2016 – BIRMINGHAM O2 Academy Birmingham
Fri November 18 2016 – LIVERPOOL Echo Arena
Sat November 19 2016 – GLASGOW SSE Hydro
Mon November 21 2016 – NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE O2 Academy Newcastle
Tue November 22 2016 – NOTTINGHAM Rock City
Thu November 24 2016 – CARLISLE Sands Centre
Fri November 25 2016 – LEEDS first direct Arena
Sat May 27 2017 – MANCHESTER Emirates Old Trafford