Ed Sheeran fans warned of fake expensive tickets and backstage passes

Ed Sheeran fans have been warned about fake tour tickets and backstage passes being sold at extortionate prices.

Sheeran is set to kick off his UK and Ireland stadium tour in May – where he’ll be joined by support act Anne-Marie.

However, recent months have seen a spike in the rise of counterfeit and touted tickets.

“It’s been brought to our attention that ‘backstage’ or ‘promoter’ passes for Ed Sheeran in Manchester have been appearing on social media for resale at massively inflated prices,” said a SeeTickets spokesman. “While these tickets appear to have come from SEE Tickets we can confirm that See has no affiliation with these tickets and that they are fake.”

They continued: “We would like to take this opportunity to clarify that these tickets are not legitimate and we urge the public to not purchase any tickets that have not come from either a reputable, primary ticket agent, or through Ed’s chosen ticket resale platform.

“See is proud to have no affiliation with secondary ticketing and we will continue to do our best to protect fans and consumers from ticket touting, through our work with the FanFair Alliance and our ethical resale platform Fan-to-Fan.”

After the government introduced new legislation to prevent secondary ticketing sites from buying tickets in bulk using automated ‘bots’, many have welcomed the new rules from the internet search giant – however some believe that more needs to be done, calling for tout sites to be lowered in their search ranking.

Among the critics were Ed Sheeran’s promoter Stuart Galbraith, who hit out at the search engine for allowing Viagogo to appear so highly in search results – and being listed as an “official source” of tickets. Research by the Fanfair Alliance shows that  77% of searches for tickets by popular artists show a secondary ticket website that has paid to rank highly on Google searches.

Speaking to You & Yours, Galbraith said: “Google needs to bow to pressure and stop taking money for tickets which are sold on the secondary market.”

Ed Sheeran tour dates and tickets

Sheeran’s upcoming tour dates are below. Tickets are available here.

Fri May 04 2018 – CORK Pairc Ui Chaoimh
Sat May 05 2018 – CORK Pairc Ui Chaoimh
Sun May 06 2018 – CORK Pairc Ui Chaoimh
Wed May 09 2018 – BELFAST Boucher Playing Fields
Sat May 12 2018 – GALWAY Pearse Stadium
Sun May 13 2018 – GALWAY Pearse Stadium
Wed May 16 2018 – DUBLIN Phoenix Park
Fri May 18 2018 – DUBLIN Phoenix Park
Sat May 19 2018 – DUBLIN Phoenix Park
Thu May 24 2018 – MANCHESTER Etihad Stadium
Fri May 25 2018 – MANCHESTER Etihad Stadium
Sat May 26 2018 – MANCHESTER Etihad Stadium
Sun May 27 2018 – MANCHESTER Etihad Stadium
Fri June 01 2018 – GLASGOW Hampden Park
Sat June 02 2018 – GLASGOW Hampden Park
Sun June 03 2018 – GLASGOW Hampden Park
Fri June 08 2018 – NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE St James Park
Sat June 09 2018 – NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE St James Park
Sun June 10 2018 – NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE St James Park
Thu June 14 2018 – LONDON Wembley Stadium
Fri June 15 2018 – LONDON Wembley Stadium
Sat June 16 2018 – LONDON Wembley Stadium
Sun June 17 2018 – LONDON Wembley Stadium
Thu June 21 2018 – CARDIFF Principality Stadium
Fri June 22 2018 – CARDIFF Principality Stadium
Sat June 23 2018 – CARDIFF Principality Stadium
Sun June 24 2018 – CARDIFF Principality Stadium