Gorillaz premiere two new songs from ‘Plastic Beach’ on NME Radio

Murdoc Niccals hijacks NME Radio for the third time

GorillazMurdoc Niccals has premiered new tracks from the cartoon band’s forthcoming album ‘Plastic Beach’ on NME Radio this afternoon (February 16).

Niccals took over the station for the third time in as many weeks and again played a selection of his favourite tracks, including Blondie (‘Island of Lost Souls’) and Jay-Z (‘Empire State Of Mind’).

After playing Gustav Holst‘s ‘Neptune The Mystic’ from his ‘Planets’ collection, Niccals played a snippet of new a Gorillaz track sung by Damon Albarn, which he joked was to be called ‘Stink Fish’.

Later on in the broadcast, another new Gorillaz track was played, though Niccals again gave it a jokey title – ‘Salmon On Rye With No Title To Go’. Featuring Mos Def, the track was faded out by Niccals after roughly 30 seconds.

Before ending his hijacking, Niccals promised to return to the airwaves next week, when he said he’ll be joined by Gorillaz member 2D – who resembles Albarn – for the show.

Niccals played:

Gustav Holst – ‘Neptune The Mystic’
Gorillaz – ‘Stink Fish’
The Stranglers – ‘The Raven’
Jay-Z – ‘Empire State Of Mind’
The Rolling Stones – ‘2000 Light Years From Home’
Gorillaz (featuring Mos Def and Hypnotic Brass Ensemble) – ‘Salmon On Rye With No Title To Go’
Blondie – ‘Island Of Lost Souls’
The Moontrekkers – ‘Night Of The Vampire’
Erika Eigen – ‘I Want To Marry A Lighthouse Keeper’

To tune in, head to Sky Channel 0184, Virgin Media 975, Freesat 727, DAB nationwide or NME.COM/radio.