Linkin Park say new album is reaction to bands copying Arcade Fire and Mumford & Sons

New album 'The Hunting Party' features appearances from System Of A Down and Tom Morello

Linkin Park frontman Mike Shinoda has said that the band’s new album goes in a heavier than normal direction as a response to what he describes as the “passive” nature of new bands.

The band will release their sixth album, the follow-up to 2012’s ‘Living Things’ on June 16, the day after their headlline gig at this summer’s Download Festival, where they will play their 2000 album ‘Hybrid Theory’ in full. Rage Against The Machine’s Tom Morello and Daron Malakian of System of a Down have been announced as guests on the LP.

Speaking to Kerrang! Shinoda says that he got so “sick” of listening to bands copying one another that he was inspired to make Linkin Park’s music heavier. “I read a blog last year about music sucking right now and being really depressing, and I had to agree,” he says. “There are bands like Mumford and Sons and Arcade Fire, who are both fine if you like that sort of thing, but then there are just hundreds of bands trying to be like them.”

Shinoda continues, “I have a Spotify playlist called ‘Yelling over guitars’, which ranges from At The Drive-In to Sick Of It All to Botch. I love all of that stuff and I was getting annoyed that some younger people aren’t familiar with that aesthetic. Then I thought, ‘Why don’t we just make the stuff that we want to hear, instead of sitting around and being frustrated that nobody’s making music with that vibe for us!'”

Linkin Park recently revealed the aforementioned ‘Guilty All The Same’, the first song from their new album. The track features US rapper Rakim. ‘The Hunting Party’ will be Linkin Park’s sixth album and their first since 2012’s ‘Living Things’.

‘The Hunting Party’ tracklisting is as follows:

‘Keys To The Kingdom’
‘All For Nothing’ (featuring Page Hamilton)
‘Guilty All The Same’ (featuring Rakim)
‘The Summoning’
‘Until It’s Gone’
‘Rebellion’ (featuring Daron Malakian)
‘Mark The Graves’
‘Drawbar’ (featuring Tom Morello)
‘Final Masquerade’
‘A Line In The Sand’